SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    29
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    netscape 4.7 problem

    hi..
    I am new with css, so i have no idea what to do.. I want to set an image in the background with its position fixed at the bottom right of the browser. its working fine with ie 5 and net scape 6. but it is screwing up majorly in net scape 4.7. here is the code.. please help

    <STYLE>
    BODY
    {
    BACKGROUND-ATTACHMENT: fixed;
    BACKGROUND-IMAGE: url(index/backgrd.jpg);
    BACKGROUND-POSITION: right bottom;
    BACKGROUND-REPEAT: no-repeat;
    HEIGHT: 100%;
    WIDTH: 100%
    }
    </STYLE>
    signature

  2. #2
    morphine for a wooden leg randem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    .chicago.il.us
    Posts
    957
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Netscape 4.7 is nowhere close to being fully standards-compliant. You're not going to have much luck getting CSS-only solutions to work with it.

  3. #3
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    9 out of 10 times, Netscape 4.XX will simply ignore background-attachment:fixed. The tenth time it will just crash on it. It doesn't support the tag.

    Furthermore if you add any kind of nested tables and/or javascript to the page with a fixed background, Netscape 4.XX will increase its likelihood of crashes ever towards 100%.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  4. #4
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can however put an image as a table background alright,

    or use the CSS tile function:

    background-image: url(image.gif);
    background-repeat: repeat-x;
    background-position: top

    if you're really keen to get it working there's a lot of trickery involved, it's often easier to just forget about it...lol


  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    29
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi...
    the thing is that i have to make it work... the design has been approved by our client. I don't have any other option. please mentor if you think it can work.. please show me how..

    thanks
    Khalid
    signature

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    29
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi...
    the thing is that i have to make it work... the design has been approved by our client. I don't have any other option. please platinum if you think it can work.. please show me how..

    thanks
    Khalid
    signature

  7. #7
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if you give us a link to the site we *may* be able to figure it out..

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    29
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi..
    Its http://www.inboxbiz.com/product.htm

    I hope you can come up with something
    thanks
    Last edited by Khalid; Jun 25, 2002 at 03:22.
    signature

  9. #9
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    mmmm, I'm not too sure that it would be easy to fix that... it's not the background image i'd be worrying about your menu that doesn't work

    You're best bet would be to use php or something to detect the browser and get rid of/change certian things

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    29
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    platinum the menu problem i have solved but haven't yet uploaded the page...
    what do i do after detecting the browser.. i can't just not show the background..

    thanks

    Khalid
    signature

  11. #11
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can put the background stuff in a second stylesheet and use the @import command in CSS to import it into your first sheet. Since Netscape 4.7 ignores @import, the problem will disappear in that browser.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    29
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi...
    w.luke hehhehe.. how do i use the tag.. i am sorry.. i have just started with css..

    Khalid
    signature


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •