SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Anyone tried NaviCat yet?

Hi,

I am in a situation where I am stuck and I don't know what to do. Our developer left us a week ago with an unfinished code that needs the excel data uploaded on a database. That data also has to appear on the client's website.

Being a total newbie in Databases, I was searching for an easy way to get it done since the deadline is this week. I found NaviCat, tried to download it but couldn't really use it I saw the video and the demo on their website and I think it does the uploading to the database in just a few clicks.

Anyway, I don't know where I suppose to have the port # on the database or on PHPAdmin since it was asking for it.

Would appreciate if someone can help me out, advice, suggestions, anything. Totally desparate!
    sig space open...

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use an old version of Navicat (came for free as a magazine cover-mount) and think it is great.

In order to access a database on a server, you might have to use HTTP tunnelling - the Navicat site shows how it is done (http://mysql.navicat.com/SSH-Tunnel-...ement/SSH.html). It could be that your server allows direct access to the database?

The default server port for MySQL is 3306.

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is a featue in phpMyAdmin and, presumably, heidiSQL where you can upload a csv file into the db. ALl you should need to do in excel is export the spreadsheet (if thats what it actually is), as a csv file. save it somewhere on your machine and upload it using phpMyAdmin or whatever database management software you are/can quickly be, familiarised with.