SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Keeping Text Aligned on Different Screens

I am a novice, and put together a website for my wife. It consists of a lot of photos, and at the bottom of each page have next, back, home, etc.. How do I keep this text in one line when viewed on other PC's, monitors, etc..

I put the site together using a 22 inch wide screen, and it looks great, but on others...not so great.

You were all a help in the past with this project, and hope you can help with this question. Happy Thanksgiving.

www.theinquisitiveeye.com

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

Below is a pretty simple example of what you are trying to do. Essentially I am floating the different text elements left and right, and placing a left and right margin on the left-most and right-most elements. Notice that when you float elements right, it is the first element that you float which appears in the right-most position (not sure if I made any sense....). Here you go:
    <div id="footer" style="position:absolute; bottom:0px; left:0px; width:100&#37;;">
    <span style="position:relative; top:0px; left:0px; margin-left:20px; margin-right:20px; float:left;">Home</span>
    <span style="position:relative; top:0px; left:0px; float:left;">Back</span>

<span style="position:relative; top:0px; left:0px; margin-left:20px; margin-right:20px; float:right;">End</span>
    <span style="position:relative; top:0px; left:0px; float:right;">Next</span>
    </div>

SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    HTML is a markup language. It indicates what things are, but says nothing about how it looks.

What you need to control the layout is CSS, so you should post this question in the CSS forum.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

Follow: @AlexDawsonUK silver trophybronze trophy AlexDawson's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)