SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Getting data from MySql display as variables

Hi, I'm a newbie to this but I would like to use sessions and the person logs in then they go to another page, and I have just coded an example of what I want. Basically it selects the email address and ipaddress and date from the database where the user name is $varified_user (which comes from the session) and displays the information. This is a simplified version of what I want to do. Here is the main code, can you help, cos I'm lost? :
    PHP Code:
    //Query the database for user details using the session variable $verified_user

$result = @mysql_query("SELECT Email_Add, ipaddress, Date FROM users
                WHERE User_Name='
    $verified_user'");
        if(@
    mysql_num_rows($result) != 0
        {

$email_add $result[Email_Add];

$ipaddr    $result[ipaddress];

$date $result[Date];
            echo 
    "Your email address is: $email_add";
            }

print 
    "You are Logged in as: $verified_user";

echo 
    "<BR> Hi There, these are your user details";
    echo 
    "<BR>Your email address is: $email_add";

?> 

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The query returns a result identifier, but not the actual values that exist in the database. You need to use a specialized function to read the contents of the result identifier into actual values that you may use. Try this:
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    //Query the database for user details using the session variable $verified_user
    $query=@mysql_query("SELECT Email_Add, ipaddress, Date FROM users ".

"WHERE User_Name='$verified_user'");
    $result=mysql_fetch_assoc($query);
    if(@
    mysql_num_rows($result) != 0)
    {

$email_add $result['Email_Add'];

$ipaddr $result['ipaddress'];

$date $result['Date'];
        echo 
    "Your email address is: $email_add";
    }
    print