SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Security

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Security

    Hi everybody
    I uploaded my web pages to my host, and when I viewed the source code via IE 6 on the net I noticed that a script has been added to all my pages.

    <!-- BEGIN Popup Blocker -->
    <script language='javascript'>
    NS_ActualOpen=window.open;
    function NS_NullWindow(){this.window;}
    function NS_NewOpen(url,nam,atr){return(new NS_NullWindow());}
    window.open=NS_NewOpen;
    </script>
    <!-- END Popup Blocker -->

    I did not add this script, it somehow was added to my pages automatically, by whom/what I do not know. Trying to locate and solve the problem, I uploaded a simple page that I prepared with my notepad, again with no popup blocker script, I uploaded it and verified it on the net. Still the popup script was added to it. I then downloaded from my host the same file, viewed it with the notepad and the file was exactly as I prepared it, no popup blocker script. Weird!!!

    Has anybody experienced such a situation?
    Does anybody know what causes the automatic addition of this script to my web pages?
    Is there a way to stop this script from being added?

    Any ideas will be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    hrisula

    PS Here is the test page
    http://pages.infinit.net/zeus/test/Date.htm

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    272
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The link you posted does not work, however, this one does: http://pages.infinit.net/zeus/test/Date.htm When I veiwed your source code, I could not see any of the text you mentioned. (Im on IE 5) Im not 100% percent sure, but have you downloaded a "Pop Up Killer" type programme on your machine? Also, is it affecting your web pages when they are viewed?
    Design R Web Solutions
    part of Othello Technology Systems Ltd AS29527
    Email Us Support Forums
    enom ETP - PM me for a free reseller account

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Let me make double sure: when you view the source of the file, the popup blocker is not seen on your PC? Then could it mean that the problem is located on my PC or IE6?

    Yes, absolutely all my pages on 2 different hosts are affected, they all have acquired this script (when I view the source from the internet), although the original files do not have it.

    No, I have not downloaded any software or popup killer from the internet. However I have installed on my computer Zone Alarm pro 3 (medium security), and I do know that I have at times some kind of difficulties. But, I made a test: I turned off Zone Alarm, then I uploaded the file, then I viewed it, and the popup blocker thingie was still there.

    What kind of software would add code automatically to viewed web pages? Now that I check again, it seems that all the pages I view have this thingie.

    I verified all the installed programs on my computer, I can't detect anyone that might create this, or I do not see it, or it is hidden. What can it be? Can you think of any test that I might do to find out the culprit?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    272
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/1999/REC-html401-19991224/loose.dtd">
    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE></TITLE>
    </HEAD>
    <BODY>
    <TABLE WIDTH="300" BGCOLOR="#FFFFFF" CELLPADDING="5"
    CELLSPACING="2" BORDER="2">
    <TR>
    <TD>Today's date is/TD>
    </TR>
    <TR>
    <TD><SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript" TYPE="text/javascript">
    <!--
    getit2="";
    today = new Date();
    weekday = today.getDay();
    if (weekday == 0) getit1='Sunday';
    if (weekday == 1) getit1='Monday';
    if (weekday == 2) getit1='Tuesday';
    if (weekday == 3) getit1='Wednesday';
    if (weekday == 4) getit1='Thursday';
    if (weekday == 5) getit1='Friday';
    if (weekday == 6) getit1='Saturday';
    month = today.getMonth();
    if (month == 0) getit2='January';
    if (month == 1) getit2='Febuary';
    if (month == 2) getit2='March';
    if (month == 3) getit2='April';
    if (month == 4) getit2='May';
    if (month == 5) getit2='June';
    if (month == 6) getit2='July';
    if (month == 7) getit2='August';
    if (month == 8) getit2='September';
    if (month == 9) getit2='October';
    if (month == 10) getit2='November';
    if (month == 11) getit2='December';
    date = today.getDate();
    year=today.getFullYear();
    document.write ("<font color='purple' size=3>" + getit2,' ',date,', ',year + "</font>");
    // -->
    </SCRIPT></TD>
    </TR>
    <TR>
    <TD>&nbsp;</TD>
    </TR>
    </TABLE> </BODY>
    </HTML>

    That is the source code from my pc running IE 5. If the script is occuring on 2 different hosts, its not going to be a hosting problem, but something else. It does sound like a firewall problem. One of our cleints had a problem uploading pages to his site when he installed a firewall. As soon as he swithed it off, there was no problem. Maybe someone on here is running Zone Alarm who can possibly give you some further information. What you could try is go to your site from another machine and view the source code there and that way you will determine if its just your PC/ MAC with the problem.
    Design R Web Solutions
    part of Othello Technology Systems Ltd AS29527
    Email Us Support Forums
    enom ETP - PM me for a free reseller account

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The code you viewed is the same as the original code. I checked from another PC and they see the same thing. I am the only one that sees the additional code.
    Someone else also suggested the possibility of a firewall problem. I will go to the Zone Alarm site to inform myself.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to help me.
    Hrisula

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    272
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your welcome hrisula. Glad I could help. We all need a helping hand sometimes.
    Design R Web Solutions
    part of Othello Technology Systems Ltd AS29527
    Email Us Support Forums
    enom ETP - PM me for a free reseller account

  7. #7
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You also might want to run Adaware (free from Download.com) to check your system.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post It's Zone Alarm.

    Zone Alarm has a pop-up blocker that inserts the above code to stop popups. This is actually a new "feature" in 3.0. You should look in your settings and see if you can turn the feature off or uninstall it and see if you can find the previous version of Zone Alarm or do what I did and switch to Norton Personal Firewall.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •