SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    phpMyAdmin makes Apache crash

    Hello,

    I am just starting out with PHP using Kevin Yank's book and got to the point where I've installed phpMyAdmin. I've got:

    Apache 2.2.14 (Win32)
    PHP 5.2.11
    MySQL 5.1.40
    phpMyAdmin 3.2.3 (all languages - because I use multi-byte languages)

    I set up the phpMyAdmin config.inc.php according to the instructions, but also added

    $cfg['Servers'][1]['extension'] = 'mysqli';

    because otherwise there was an error saying mysql was not supported. (I found this in the sample file that came with the installation.)

    When I ran phpMyAdmin from in my browser, I entered username root and my password on the login page, and one of those nasty screens that suggests you send the problem to Microsoft popped up saying:

    "Apache HTTP Server has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

    Apache must have restarted itself, because this popup appeared twice before I got the following page in my browser:

    "The connection was reset

    The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.

    * The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
    moments.

    * If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
    connection.

    * If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
    that Firefox is permitted to access the Web. "

    Any suggestions about how to fix this?

    I noticed a similar thread back in February which mentioned the connection problem but not the Apache problem, however there was no resolution to that one. Hope someone can help this time as I am not very literate with this stuff yet!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict Zarin Denatrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Surrey BC, Canada
    Posts
    309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is there anything in either the PHP Error log or apache error log that might be relevant?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP is configured to display errors, not to log them, so what I see is all that I get from PHP. It's configured to display all errors except E_NOTICE.

    The Apache error log reads as follows:

    [Fri Nov 13 09:23:33 2009] [notice] Apache/2.2.14 (Win32) PHP/5.2.11 configured -- resuming normal operations
    [Fri Nov 13 09:23:33 2009] [notice] Server built: Sep 28 2009 22:41:08
    [Fri Nov 13 09:23:33 2009] [notice] Parent: Created child process 2000
    httpd.exe: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 192.168.1.2 for ServerName
    httpd.exe: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 192.168.1.2 for ServerName
    [Fri Nov 13 09:23:34 2009] [notice] Child 2000: Child process is running
    [Fri Nov 13 09:23:34 2009] [notice] Child 2000: Acquired the start mutex.
    [Fri Nov 13 09:23:34 2009] [notice] Child 2000: Starting 64 worker threads.
    [Fri Nov 13 09:23:34 2009] [notice] Child 2000: Starting thread to listen on port 80.

    [Fri Nov 13 13:11:38 2009] [notice] Parent: child process exited with status 3221225477 -- Restarting.

    And then it starts again.

    There is also an access log which shows the following:

    127.0.0.1 - - [13/Nov/2009:13:10:58 +1100] "GET /phpmyadmin HTTP/1.1" 301 236
    127.0.0.1 - - [13/Nov/2009:13:10:58 +1100] "GET /phpmyadmin/ HTTP/1.1" 200 8842
    127.0.0.1 - - [13/Nov/2009:13:10:59 +1100] "GET /phpmyadmin/print.css HTTP/1.1" 200 1063
    127.0.0.1 - - [13/Nov/2009:13:10:59 +1100] "GET /phpmyadmin/phpmyadmin.css.php?lang=en-utf-8&convcharset=utf-8&collation_connection=utf8_general_ci&token=4032ed55d0f65ac0b3bc569e492e5f5a&js_frame=right&nocache=3771699017 HTTP/1.1" 200 21389
    127.0.0.1 - - [13/Nov/2009:13:11:00 +1100] "GET /phpmyadmin/themes/original/img/logo_right.png HTTP/1.1" 200 5658
    127.0.0.1 - - [13/Nov/2009:13:11:00 +1100] "GET /phpmyadmin/themes/original/img/b_help.png HTTP/1.1" 200 229
    127.0.0.1 - - [13/Nov/2009:13:11:00 +1100] "GET /phpmyadmin/themes/original/img/s_warn.png HTTP/1.1" 200 261
    127.0.0.1 - - [13/Nov/2009:13:11:00 +1100] "GET /phpmyadmin/themes/original/img/s_notice.png HTTP/1.1" 200 247
    127.0.0.1 - - [13/Nov/2009:13:11:00 +1100] "GET /phpmyadmin/favicon.ico HTTP/1.1" 200 18902
    127.0.0.1 - - [13/Nov/2009:13:11:24 +1100] "POST /phpmyadmin/index.php HTTP/1.1" 302 -

    That's it!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just found something in another forum where a similar error occurred - they suggested copying PHP's libmysql.dll into the apache/bin directory, so I have done this.

    I've noticed before that I can only use mysqli, not mysql commands in PHP. Does phpMyAdmin require both?

    Anyway, now I only get the Apache crash popup once, not twice; and then the phpMyAdmin screen comes up successfully rather than timing out. And now I can use it to create DBs and tables, but haven't tried to access the DB in my web pages yet.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Newcastle Australia
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had this problem with PHP 5.2 and it has been discussed in other threads. The solution for me was to install PHP 5.3. for Windows VC6 Thread Safe version.

    There is a etara for the book some where that mentions it.
    Kevin

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, now I've been using it for several days and it's working fine - seems like copying the libmysql.dll fixed the problem and no need to install a thread safe version. I've been doing all sorts of activities with the database and using it on my web site and everything works OK.

    Thanks anyway.

    And particular thanks to Zarin who suggested I look at the error log - the error code was the key to finding the solution.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •