Hybrid View

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Export picture from mysql database to file

Hi all,

I'm new to export picture from mysql database to file.

I found few tutorials over the internet. All the tutorials show that in order to export the image file, I need to know the file extension.

However, the file type of the images are not kept separately in one field in the database.

Do you have any idea to get the image file exported with the correct file type from the database?

Thanks in advance!
    newbie...

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you are using blob field for storing image in mysql then you can just base64 decode and use the force download script.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question

Quote Originally Posted by PHPycho View Post
    If you are using blob field for storing image in mysql then you can just base64 decode and use the force download script.
    Thanks for your suggestion PHPycho...
    I'll try to explore on it..

One more thing i wish to find out...

Will there be any problem if I ignore the original file type of the image and export them in jpg format?
    newbie...

Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by liyenn View Post
    Will there be any problem if I ignore the original file type of the image and export them in jpg format?
    There will be, for some users, yes. If whatever program they use to view the image tries to rely on the extension, and the contents of the file are not in fact a jpeg-encoded image, then they won't be able to see it.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Grossman View Post