SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Headed Home! KM Richards's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    I'm right Here!
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Suggestions before going to Windows 7 ???

    OK, so I'm about ready to seriously start researching what I want to do to my computer before going to Windows 7.

    Please checkout my computer's current specs below and let me know if I should upgrade the MOBO and RAM before going to Windows 7

    Just wanting to see what the resident experts here think is the
    best route to take for my machine


  2. #2
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It looks good to me, though M$ has a test you can run on your comp to see if it is compatible: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...e-advisor.aspx

  3. #3
    Headed Home! KM Richards's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    I'm right Here!
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good idea, thanks for the link...

  4. #4
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not a prob. I've got the release candidate installed on a comp with less than yours has (Pentium 4 3ghz, 1gb RAM) or at least less RAM than you got. It runs okay on there though my RAM gets eaten up if I am doing too much at once. My laptop has 3gb and it runs real nice on it.

  5. #5
    Headed Home! KM Richards's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    I'm right Here!
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I'm going to upgrade the MOBO and the RAM because I'd like to go 64 bit.

    What's the difference between 32 bit and 64 bit when it comes to running normal
    business applications?

    And, when I ran the test it said I wouldn't be able to run Outlook Express so do I need to switch to Thunderbird? If so, can that program read emails I've saved to folders for storage that I've been compiling for years (lots of business emails)

  6. #6
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm no expert or even a novice on 32 vs 64bit systems. Though as far as I know you'll need different versions of your software made for 64 bit.

    Again, no expert but I would think you should be able to run Outlook. Though there is a new mail app in Vista(i think), 7 called Windows mail. Not sure of this is a replacement for Outlook or just another choice. Not sure on Thunderbird either. I would think it can open emails download via Outlook. It's switch appeal would be lost if it couldn't.

    Someone else around here can probably answer these questions better. Hope this was somewhat helpful in some small way!

  7. #7
    Headed Home! KM Richards's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    I'm right Here!
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is 64 bit supposed to be faster and more powerful?

  8. #8
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by M$
    The terms 32-bit and 64-bit refer to the way a computer's processor (also called a CPU), handles information. The 64-bit version of Windows handles large amounts of random access memory (RAM) more effectively than a 32-bit system. For more details, go to A description of the differences between 32-bit versions of Windows Vista and 64-bit versions of Windows Vista online.
    It's on Vista but I assume it still applies.

  9. #9
    Headed Home! KM Richards's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    I'm right Here!
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If it handles large amounts of random access memory (RAM) more effectively than a 32-bit system, then it's got to perform better...one would think.

    Problem is, how many mainstream applications used for business are going to
    be available in 64 bit? Prolly not too many

  10. #10
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A 64bit OS can run 32bit applications as long as those applications do not need to dig them selves into the kernel. 64bit is not just an increase in RAM usage, but can handle much larger numbers at once time doing asthmatic computations a lot faster.

    Before even attempting to move over I would adivse you to first download the 90-day evaluation, dual-boot or get a spare drive to install it on. Then use that to test, test, test and be sure it will work for you.

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/e...?ITPID=wtcfeed

    This is no email client in Windows 7, you must download one and migrating from Outlook Express is not something I would know about.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  11. #11
    Headed Home! KM Richards's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    I'm right Here!
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by logic_earth View Post
    Before even attempting to move over I would adivse you to first download the 90-day evaluation, dual-boot or get a spare drive to install it on. Then use that to test, test, test and be sure it will work for you.
    That's a good idea.

    So, most 32 bit programs will work on 64 bit versions of Windows?
    I always heard a program had to be built specifically for running on the 64 bit version

  12. #12
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by KM Richards View Post
    So, most 32 bit programs will work on 64 bit versions of Windows?
    I always heard a program had to be built specifically for running on the 64 bit version
    Most should work, but I cannot guarantee that. If the application does not use any kernel level applications, or do anything outside of the standard APIs it should work. If it doesn't work you could always try Virtual PC and XP Mode (license for Windows XP comes with Professional and Ultimate).
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  13. #13
    Headed Home! KM Richards's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    I'm right Here!
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, I think your suggestion of getting an evaluation copy and testing
    all my favorite programs might be the way to go so I can see if they
    will work or not, which lets me know if I need to consider 32 bit.

  14. #14
    Headed Home! KM Richards's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    I'm right Here!
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, so where can I download an evaluation copy???

  15. #15
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy rushiku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    A van down by the river
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by KM Richards View Post
    Well, I'm going to upgrade the MOBO and the RAM because I'd like to go 64 bit.
    Don't forget the CPU...

    And video card, because your old one won't be compatible with the new mainboard.

    And isn't it time you upgraded to a larger hard drive?

    And, oh my, is your current PSU big enough to provide the juice for all this new stuff?

    Save yourself some heartache and just buy or build a new one.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Crazybanana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    In tha fruit cellar
    Posts
    1,379
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rushiku
    Don't forget the CPU...

    And video card, because your old one won't be compatible with the new mainboard.

    And isn't it time you upgraded to a larger hard drive?

    And, oh my, is your current PSU big enough to provide the juice for all this new stuff?

    Save yourself some heartache and just buy or build a new one.
    I agree with your points here as there can be a lot of things to think about when upgrading a system.

    Personally I would probably throw away everything but the drives and screen, and get a new pentium processor (CPU) and a new MOBO from ASUS that would satisfy my specific needs, then I would go for no less than 4GB of faster ram, a new cd/dvd-rom drive from Sony NEC Optiarc, and a PSU from Cooler Master, Chieftec or more likely Corsair, and a new video card depending on my needs...

    or just buy a new one

    The harddrive size for the C drive is not so important, as many prefer to use this only for the operating system related stuff. Using the same drive/partition for OS and files can put your files more at risk, as problems more often occurs on the disk/partition that house the OS.
    Who's to doom when the judge himself is dragged before the bar


  17. #17
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by KM Richards View Post
    OK, so where can I download an evaluation copy???

  18. #18
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good idea

  19. #19
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,629
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The other sort of apps which have 64 bit issues are drivers. Which is why cisco's VPN client don't work on 64 bit. That said, I've been on x64 for 2+ years and haven't had a problem outside of that. Especially in recent memory as x64 is here to stay.

  20. #20
    Headed Home! KM Richards's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    I'm right Here!
    Posts
    707
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I called Velocit Micro today and here's what they had to say...

    $797.50 - New 3.0 gig i7 CPU
    $348.00 - New EVT Mother Board (that can handle up to 12 gigs RAM )
    $180.53 - New 6 gigs DDR3 Ram
    $191.40 - New VisionTek something-er-other Video Card
    $173.13 - New Windows 7 Professional 64 bit edition (signed by Bill )
    $99.00 - Labor (special deal cause they said they liked me....)

    My hard drive is only about a year old and it is a WD 10,000rpm drive
    and all that is on it is the OS and all my programs. I keep all my data
    on my E drive, and I back that up to my other two drives (got 4 in the box,
    and two more that I back up to on the outside, and one down in the
    safety deposit box at tha bank that I swap out with a fresh back-up
    'bout every 2 weeks)

    Roughly, I'm looking at $1789.56

    If I go out and buy a nice high-end PC that's going to
    perform as good as the rebuild, I'm thinkin I'm going to
    spend more than that

    I cannot sell what I have any get anything for it much,
    so I may as well rebuild it since we have the technology
    and the buckeroos


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •