SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Are you using PHP 5.3 yet?

    I'm always having problem with PHP 5.3.
    It crashes my script which I developed in 5.2.6.

    Anyone else having problems with 5.3?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5,757
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe you didn't install it correctly?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i'm don't think so. i'm using the msi installer so everything should be setup for me. it crashes apache server when i run my script in 5.3.

    when i removed it and install 5.2.6, it works fine again. so ya, i'm holding back or rather, i can't upgrade till my current project has complete.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict skunkbad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Temecula, CA
    Posts
    278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you get any php or apache errors?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    852
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm using it without a problem and have been for a couple of months now. Can you elaborate on what you mean by crash? Do you get a PHP error, or does the script simply not complete execution, crashing or locking up the php process?

  6. #6
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Been using PHP 5.3 before it even was released. I've been using IIS 7 and FastCGI, however. If you give us more information on why or how it is crashing we could probably help you. Review Apache's error logs.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  7. #7
    @php.net Salathe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    1,396
    Mentioned
    61 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Further to logic_earth's post, just stating that "it crashes my script" and "it crashes apache server" (which is true, both?) is not much use to anyone. Please look through Apache's log files to see if anything is being logged when the problem occurs. Also look through the PHP bugs to see if the issue has been reported previously, if you feel this is a bug with PHP.
    Salathe
    Software Developer and PHP Manual Author.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    heaven
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You might want to also include whether your using windows or linux and maybe if you used one of those all inclusive installer doohickeys. I've been running php 5.3 on 2 cent os servers with out a hitch.
    Creativity knows no other restraint than the
    confines of a small mind.
    - Me
    Geekly Humor
    Oh baby! Check out the design patterns on that framework!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •