SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 42 of 42

Thread: Favicon blues

  1. #26
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mcsolas View Post
    here is a cool related site that lets you draw them: http://www.favicon.cc/
    Cool indeed! It's amazing what this thread is turning up. Thanks.

  2. #27
    SitePoint Zealot My220x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mcsolas View Post
    Same for me, that site has always done the trick.

    here is a cool related site that lets you draw them: http://www.favicon.cc/
    That is one cool site, thanks for sharing.

  3. #28
    I meant that to happen silver trophybronze trophy Raffles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tanzania
    Posts
    4,662
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That is brilliant. Another app goes online...

  4. #29
    SitePoint Guru Chroniclemaster1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Manna View Post
    I have been simply renaming files with the favicon extension for months and have never had a problem with IE. None of my favicons have been created with the above methods - and they all work.
    You're pretty lucky. Everyone else I've ever talked to has fits with this. I use GIMP and I've made more Photoshop friends than I can count with this bit of into...

    Photoshop controls its formats with .8bi files. If you have the 8bi file then Photshop knows how to open and save files of that format. ico.8bi has never been one of the files it's shipped with. That's why these kits are nice because they include ico.8bi, but anywhere you can download it is fine. Just search your Photoshop folder for *.8bi to locate where all the others are hiding and throw it in. When you restart photoshop next time, it should be included in your save options.
    Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it.
    Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now.

    Chroniclemaster1, Founder of Earth Chronicle
    A Growing History of our Planet, by our Planet, for our Planet.

  5. #30
    SitePoint Addict skunkbad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Temecula, CA
    Posts
    278
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use that photoshop plugin. Works great!!!

  6. #31
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Chroniclemaster1 View Post
    Just search your Photoshop folder for *.8bi to locate where all the others are hiding and throw it in.
    You've lost me there. Which Photoshop folder are you speaking of? And do you mean to do this after downloading something, or is it there by default but just not activated?

  7. #32
    SitePoint Wizard Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Assuming Photoshop is like Gimp in this way, there should be folders where the app stores things like its fonts and algorithms (like Gimp has fonts in .gimp-2.4/fonts in my home dir). There should be a folder for file types?

  8. #33
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Stomme poes View Post
    There should be a folder for file types?
    Indeed there is. But for me, they all end in .plugin, so I was wondering if Chroniclemaster1 was referring to something else. None of the folders contains anything like *.8bi.

  9. #34
    Follow: @AlexDawsonUK silver trophybronze trophy AlexDawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    8,111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I have used http://www.favicon.cc/ in the past but the reason why I use Axialis is because I do some professional icon work in respect to software dev (as well as Favicon's). I would point out that if you wanted to add a FavIcon to the iPod touch or the iPhone you would need to create a special apple icon in PNG format

  10. #35
    SitePoint Guru Chroniclemaster1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    You've lost me there. Which Photoshop folder are you speaking of? And do you mean to do this after downloading something, or is it there by default but just not activated?
    Quote Originally Posted by Stomme poes View Post
    Assuming Photoshop is like Gimp in this way, there should be folders where the app stores things like its fonts and algorithms (like Gimp has fonts in .gimp-2.4/fonts in my home dir). There should be a folder for file types?
    Exactly, Photoshop uses a folder that includes jpg.8bi, gif.8bi, etc. but by default Photoshop does not include the ico.8bi; so Photoshop can open and save jpgs, gifs, etc. but not .ico files. However, if you download the ico.8bi and save it to the folder which contains all the other .8bi files, Photoshop will have access to it the next time you restart. I use GIMP currently, so I don't remember the exact path; a simple search for .8bi files will locate it quickly though.

    Or you can install some of the toolkits people have suggested; if they provide icon capabilities then one of the things it's doing is saving the ico.8bi file to the appropriate folder as part of its installation, ie it does everything for you.

    Cheers!
    Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it.
    Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now.

    Chroniclemaster1, Founder of Earth Chronicle
    A Growing History of our Planet, by our Planet, for our Planet.

  11. #36
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Hmm, perhaps it's a Windows/Mac thing. There are no .8bi files on my Mac (in Ps or elsewhere).

    EDIT: Yes, it's a Windows?/Mac thing (with different downloads depending on the platform): http://blog.photoframd.com/2009/04/2...-in-photoshop/

  12. #37
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    .ico is a container format wich can hold several images

    i recommend using dynamic drives free generator - just google it

    i now use ReaWorld Icon Editor

    for IE use ccleaner to clear all cache

  13. #38
    It's all Geek to me silver trophybronze trophy
    ralph.m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, AU
    Posts
    24,299
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    8 Thread(s)
    Thanks ywndotno.

    That Dynamic Drive link (http://tools.dynamicdrive.com/favicon/) looks interesting, although it doesn't hand .ico files, and I wonder if IE supports anything but .ico?

    The RealWorld editor (http://www.rw-designer.com/3D_icon_editor.php) also looks useful, although I just wanted a simple .ico creation tool (rather than a commercial icon tool), for which there are solutions above.

  14. #39
    SitePoint Guru Chroniclemaster1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ralph.m View Post
    Hmm, perhaps it's a Windows/Mac thing. There are no .8bi files on my Mac (in Ps or elsewhere).

    EDIT: Yes, it's a Windows?/Mac thing (with different downloads depending on the platform): http://blog.photoframd.com/2009/04/2...-in-photoshop/
    Interesting, thanks Ralph!
    Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it.
    Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now.

    Chroniclemaster1, Founder of Earth Chronicle
    A Growing History of our Planet, by our Planet, for our Planet.

  15. #40
    SitePoint Addict aliqayyum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    for blogspot user, how can i saved my favicon... in which place

  16. #41
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just to confuse matters...I have been going crazy with this issues for ages. I did a proper conversion to an .ico file, tried every variant of the html header codes, as well as different ways of putting the favicon.ico file in the root folder. Every time the favicon is fine in FF and doesn't appear in IE (v.8).

    Now, I find it's more complicated. The favicon does appear on IE (various versions), for various versions of Windows but NOT on my computer. I have tried every trick - clearing cache and browsing history, opening and closing IE, dragging the horrible IE favicon across the address bar until my wrist siezes up... I've read every blog, every forum, every expert site and, of course, the totally useless Microsoft site and...no joy. I cannot see my own, particularly wonderful, favicon.

    a) Any suggestions?
    b) Why does MS make it so difficult? This issue has been bugging people for at least three years. What can they possibly gain by making life difficult whne their competitors make it so easy?

  17. #42
    Follow: @AlexDawsonUK silver trophybronze trophy AlexDawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    8,111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    viegasb, I am not sure what to suggest (beyond what you've done), to be honest if it's not cached and it's referenced properly it should work as the favicon issue doesn't exist in IE8 that I'm aware of. Do you have the website bookmarked? That might be holding the cached icon (causing an issue).


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •