SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Learning how to modify a template starting with zero knowledge of design/programming

Hi,

First, I'd like to preface this by saying that I'm a total newbie to web design and programming. Therefore it's quite possible that the questions I'm about to ask are not even phrased/described properly. I'm sorry about that.

So, I have an idea for a dating website that I'd like to try out, and basically I'm wondering if my best course of action would be to

a) hire someone to build the website the way I want it
    b) modify an existing template

I have no knowledge of CSS, HTML, etc. My website wouldn't need much modification (I think) from a template except customizing the search options and content. Would this be something that I could learn to do in a relatively short period of time (say, 50 hours or so)?

Alternatively, how much would it cost to pay someone to built the website for me?

Sorry for the totally naive, totally newbie questions. Thanks for reading, and thanks in advance for your advice!

Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are plenty of existing freebie scripts for dating websites.

This isn't so much editing an existing 'template' as using an existing 'script'.

You'll need a host, the script you want to run and a bit of patience.

I think 50 is plenty of time to get this sort of thing running.

Perhaps start by googling 'free dating website script' or similar.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, Mal.

How does one go about modifying a free script? Is it possible to "import" one into Dreamweaver and then tweak it there?

Thanks so much!

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi there,