SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    FF not opening local php files

    I have always used 'open in FF tab' within my NoteTab text editor to open .php pages that I am working on.
    NO it doesn't run the php but shows the layout structure and graphics and all i need.
    Suddenly today..when trying to open local php website files I get a dialogue that asks what I want what I want FF to do with this file?
    When I say open I get a blank page. (This is from my computer).

    I notice in the FF - tools --options--application tab::
    it says php file ---- always ask..but still doesn't open.
    (by the way this isn't working in IE7 either) and
    it was working yesterday.
    No updates or upgrades since then. Using Vista 64.

    How do I remove the php file entry from the FF applications tab?

    I think that would fix it, as on my netbook with the same NoteTab and same FF 3.0.14 version running XP it works. And that php file is NOT listed in the applications tab on that machine.

    Help! I need to be able to view these files in order to work!!

    thank

    ~bobbi
    "...Planet lurches to the right as ideologies engage/suddenly it's
    repression, moratorium on rights/what did they think the politics of
    panic would invite/the person on the street shrugs "security comes
    first"/but the trouble with normal is it always gets worse!" -- Bruce Cockburn

  2. #2
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,580
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by humanz View Post
    Help! I need to be able to view these files in order to work!!
    Rather than fix a kludge, run a local web server and you can view the PHP website the way it'll actually look on the web.

    http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-windows.html

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast burNMind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Grossman View Post
    Rather than fix a kludge, run a local web server and you can view the PHP website the way it'll actually look on the web.

    http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-windows.html
    I agree. One good and free solution is XAMPP
    blogging @ burnmind.com

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy

    I am really tired of people saying this. And if I was working on a php content driven site locally these answers would help.

    All these little sites I have use php include statements. I don't need to serve up the php.

    And those statements did not address the actual problem I am having.
    Can any one help with that?
    "...Planet lurches to the right as ideologies engage/suddenly it's
    repression, moratorium on rights/what did they think the politics of
    panic would invite/the person on the street shrugs "security comes
    first"/but the trouble with normal is it always gets worse!" -- Bruce Cockburn

  5. #5
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,580
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by humanz View Post
    I am really tired of people saying this.
    Maybe people keep saying it because it's a better solution?

    Quote Originally Posted by humanz View Post
    And if I was working on a php content driven site locally these answers would help.
    It lets you see your site in any web browser. Locally, instantly. It solves your problem. It doesn't matter what kind of site it is.

    ~

    An analogy to our situation:

    YOU: I always drive to work on this dirt road. But a tree has fallen on the road. Will someone help me move this tree so I can resume driving on the dirt road to work?

    PASSERBY: Well, instead of us spending the day moving this tree, why don't you go to work on the paved highway right next to you, like everyone else is doing? It's not difficult, you'll have a smoother drive to work, and you can even go other places since there are other exits from this road.

    YOU: I am really tired of people saying this. I want you to move this tree.

    ~

    Just my opinion of course. As for the "applications tab" stuff, you can probably browse through Firefox's configuration files in Notepad. They're somewhere under the AppData folder in your user direcory (hidden by default in Explorer).

  6. #6
    100% Windoze-free earther's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    2,788
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by humanz View Post
    All these little sites I have use php include statements. I don't need to serve up the php.
    I totally agree that XAMPP is the best way to go. That being said . . . you might be able to use PHP includes in an .html page. It depends how your server is configured, of course. When I open an .html page with includes outside of XAMPP, the include content doesn't appear but the rest of the page is there.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you earther..
    I have been using php includes within xhtml sites for years and had no problem viewing on browser. There is something not right with how Firefox is suddenly not reading .php files (that are really xhtml) from my computer. That being said, I am looking for a solution and I may just have to replace FF's mimeTypes.rdf and see if that works. If not I guess I uninstall and reinstall FF .. oh joy.

    ~bobbi
    "...Planet lurches to the right as ideologies engage/suddenly it's
    repression, moratorium on rights/what did they think the politics of
    panic would invite/the person on the street shrugs "security comes
    first"/but the trouble with normal is it always gets worse!" -- Bruce Cockburn

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, i went to my FF profile, renamed mineTypes.rfd to mimeTypesOld.rfd and it fixed the issue I was having.
    For others info, if you are having any problems with FF not opening the correct application for the file you are trying to read, remaning this file will correct it. Or at least give you the option for what to do with the file.

    ~bobbi

    ps. Dan,
    fyi I do live 5 miles down a dirt road. There is no other road to take. When the tree falls over the road there isn't any other way but to cut the tree out of the path. That's the reality I live in.
    "...Planet lurches to the right as ideologies engage/suddenly it's
    repression, moratorium on rights/what did they think the politics of
    panic would invite/the person on the street shrugs "security comes
    first"/but the trouble with normal is it always gets worse!" -- Bruce Cockburn


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •