SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: access denied

  1. #1
    eCommerce specialist hotnuts21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Aberystwyth, UK
    Posts
    1,355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    access denied

    Hello,

    I recently bought a new domain and hosting. The domain was http://www.formulaframed.com and you can have a look if you want, in fact i need you to tell me if you can view it.

    Everytime i goto this page i get the msn error page not found, when i refresh i get the "The page cannot be displayed" page. I have had this problem for two days now.
    I cannot access my site admin, my site stats or any pages on my site.

    I contacted my host and they said they had no problem viewing the page, (yeah right, i thought!!!) I rang some friends and they too can all view the pages fine.

    My isp, i rang a frined on the same isp down the road, and he could access it fine, so i switched to a backup ISP I had and still i cannot access my site.

    My cache, i emptied my history, and temp interent files, still i cannot view my page.

    i tried to FTP a page to my site "FTP Error-cannot find host" Only in the last two days!

    I have no problem viewing any other web site just my own!

    WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON??????????????

    Im calm, im calm, no im not im stressed.

    Please help
    Search & Rescue Aberystwyth Lifeboat
    CSS Tutorials/Guides

    Sitepoint signatures are not visible to Search Engines More info

  2. #2
    gingham dress, army boots... silver trophy redux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Salford / Manchester / UK
    Posts
    4,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you haven't done something silly like put www.formulaframed.com in your computer's hosts file pointing to your own system for development purpouses or something, have you ?
    are you using your ISP's DNS server ?
    what happens if you open a command shell and type ping www.formulaframed.com ? better still, try tracert www.formulaframed.com. let us know the outcome...
    re·dux (adj.): brought back; returned. used postpositively
    [latin : re-, re- + dux, leader; see duke.]
    WaSP Accessibility Task Force Member
    splintered.co.uk | photographia.co.uk | redux.deviantart.com

  3. #3
    eCommerce specialist hotnuts21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Aberystwyth, UK
    Posts
    1,355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok,

    Something else I should clear up is that I am a bit of a newbie, i can do web desing, HTML, I run windows, and I am learning php and Mysql.

    This is the first real hosting i have had, so basically you lost me after i said the words silly!!

    no offence but i aint got a clue how to do half the stuff you reccomended I know its terrible, but at least after this I will know a hell of a lot more!

    Could you keep the options simple for me, or at least talk me through them.

    Thanks

    Oh and thanks for such a quick reply
    Search & Rescue Aberystwyth Lifeboat
    CSS Tutorials/Guides

    Sitepoint signatures are not visible to Search Engines More info

  4. #4
    eCommerce specialist hotnuts21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Aberystwyth, UK
    Posts
    1,355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I foundout what pinging was, and i pinged the site from ms dos.

    If looked ok it returned 4 ok failed 0

    I also carried out a trace,
    result over a maximum of 30 hops
    1 <10ms <10ms <10ms www.formulaframed.com
    Trace complete

    It looks like it must be a problem with my IE6, i have reset all the internet options to default, but it doesnt seem to have made any difference!

    Any more ideas,
    Last edited by hotnuts21; Jun 13, 2002 at 09:06.
    Search & Rescue Aberystwyth Lifeboat
    CSS Tutorials/Guides

    Sitepoint signatures are not visible to Search Engines More info

  5. #5
    gingham dress, army boots... silver trophy redux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Salford / Manchester / UK
    Posts
    4,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    result over a maximum of 30 hops
    1 <10ms <10ms <10ms www.formulaframed.com
    if that's ALL you get, than i think we might have a problem...normally you should get at least an extra one at the beginning, as you're connecting to the net via your isp first, before being able to find other machines...(i.e. tracert should have a line denoting your isp first, followed by one or more lines, until it gets to the destination url you're tracing to).
    ok...let's take this analytically. what OS you running ?
    have a look for a file called "hosts" (it usually has no extension, i.e. it's not followed by a . and a 3 letter acronym). under win95/98, it's usually in c:\windows, under winNT/2K it's in c:\winnt. also look out for a hosts.sam file (usually only under win95/98). open it up with notepad and have a look. if you find a line similar to:
    127.0.0.1 www.formulaframed.com
    remove it and save the file again (if you're in notepad, it will want to save it as a .txt file. either do that and then manually rename it to hosts - or hosts.sam, if that's the one you opened) or - in the save dialog - select "any file" in the little dropdown under the field where you enter the filename and then just type hosts as filename and save.
    restart your machine and try again.
    re·dux (adj.): brought back; returned. used postpositively
    [latin : re-, re- + dux, leader; see duke.]
    WaSP Accessibility Task Force Member
    splintered.co.uk | photographia.co.uk | redux.deviantart.com

  6. #6
    eCommerce specialist hotnuts21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Aberystwyth, UK
    Posts
    1,355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When I signed upto the hosting service I was sent my formula framed IP address and it is different to the one i get as a result of pinging. I tried my friend to ping and his result was the same as my ip address.

    The ip my PC is returning is 127.250.250.12

    I looked in my hosts file and yep, it is there as a local host along with another 12 sites. I have found out that it is to do with a bit of software I have called Mailman. Basically it stamps emails, and i earn some money.

    But it is for some reason doing this to host file. I have deleted the programme, and the host file is now empty, im also sending an email to mailround!!

    Thanks for your help i would never have know where to look, if it wasnt for your help, phew.
    Last edited by hotnuts21; Jun 13, 2002 at 15:05.
    Search & Rescue Aberystwyth Lifeboat
    CSS Tutorials/Guides

    Sitepoint signatures are not visible to Search Engines More info

  7. #7
    gingham dress, army boots... silver trophy redux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Salford / Manchester / UK
    Posts
    4,838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it was hard work, but we got there in the end...
    the mailman always rings twice
    re·dux (adj.): brought back; returned. used postpositively
    [latin : re-, re- + dux, leader; see duke.]
    WaSP Accessibility Task Force Member
    splintered.co.uk | photographia.co.uk | redux.deviantart.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •