Thread: help with build

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

help with build

Hey Guys

I have a newbie question so bear with me.

How do I set up a downloadable file/e-book for customers?
    Basically - they will opt-in from an opt-in box, get an e-mail
    to confirm, once they confirm they will be taken to a down load page,
    to download book.

so...how do I set this up?

Please keep it simple, remember I am a beginner.

Also please start from the very beginning of the installation,
    where, I believe, I need to make a folder on my host server(?)

Also is this doable from within a wordpress install or would it be more secure on the server.

Thanks
    tyler12

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the replies, didn't mean to make you think.

Follow: @AlexDawsonUK silver trophybronze trophy AlexDawson's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Why would you want to do something so obtrusive? Most people will not pass over their email address for the sake of downloading something (especially for someone who is unestablished as a credible source of information), you would be better off giving a straight forward link to the ebook and allowing them to sign up for a newsletter for your website with new information. Based on what you have posted I am guessing your experience level is pretty low, unless you are selling the ebook you have no reason to want their email address therefore don't bother asking for it.

PS: You shouldn't expect quick answers, we don't get paid to answer posts

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great thanks...
    p.s. Didn't ask for your opinion on how to run my business

Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Tyler,

If you put the link to the ebook on a page on your wordpress install which is only available to registered members then you could easily do this.