SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,285
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Adapting existing CSS Menu...

    Hi,

    I was wondering what steps I should take to edit this CSS menu:

    http://www.cssmenus.co.uk/dropdown.html
    css:http://www.cssmenus.co.uk/dropdown_one/dropdown_one.css

    So that if the user hovers over 'Dropdown 2.3', then another dropdown would appear.

    I've tried unsuccessfully.

    Can anyone give me any pointers on how to achieve this?



    Many thanks

  2. #2
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I wouldn't use that as it has nasty nested tables...hard to maintain.

    Why not just have a regular dropdown and name each level .one or .two and then do like

    .one li:hover ul, .two li:hover ul, etc{left:0;}
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,285
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's not too bad But I know what you mean.

    I'm using some PHP to just generate the once and loop it, so hopefully keep the maintenacnce down on it.

    Can you think of an easy way to add a third dropdown to it?

  4. #4
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Once you get the concept adding another menu (assuming you didn't just do some abstract li:hover ul{} (wihch selects everthing) is easy as pie.
    Heck Icould whip up a 3 level dropdown in a flash...want me to? It wn't be the same sa the link you posted but it'll still be a 3 level.
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,285
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the offer Ryan, but I've managed to find another site. Looks like the right one for me, cssplay.co.uk.

  6. #6
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Off Topic:

    Dangit, thoughtd you say yes so I started on it to make ti seem like I did it very fast..dang!!

    I'm glad you found an alternative .
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,285
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hehe, tbh even the alternatives aren't the greatest.
    Can't plug them into my php script without it getting real ugly.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •