SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Yet again another problem with browsers

    Hi all.

    Is it me or everything that works fine on FF doesn't work on IE and vice versa?
    I have this site that I try to develop:
    http://94.194.226.86/vss/wordpress/
    and the navigation looks good on IE but not on FF.

    Why?

    many thanks!

  2. #2
    Non-Member thewebhostingdir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your site is working fine on both the browsers Firefox as well as Internet Explorer. You can try to upgrade your browsers version and have a try.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot jimmy85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As far as how it looks, it is the same for both my FF and IE. But what navigation are you talking about? The links at the top don't work.

  4. #4
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,565
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's not looking the same for at all-the vertical alignment is off
    Code:
    #header ul{
      list-style: none;
      margin-left: auto;
      margin-right: auto;
      margin-top:10px;
      margin-bottom:5px;
      width: 895px;
      float: center;
      overflow:hidden;
    
    }
    A few things shere-IE is only displaying correctly because it has haslayout (the width) and when it does that it is using hte margin to seperate it fromt he top

    Also float:center; doesn't exist so remove that.

    You need to add padding-top:10px; so that normal good browsers can get pushed down as well.
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks,
    I removed the float center and added the padding-top:10px;
    now it looks good on FF but not on IE...
    drive me crazy!

    any ideas?

  6. #6
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,565
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Then remove the margin top. I tested IE6 and it was good, but I guess in yours its doing it twice.
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks!!!!!!

  8. #8
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,565
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your welcome .
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •