SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    using main home computer as server for home network

    Can somebody help with this please as I haven't a clue.
    I use our main computer as a web developer machine using Apache with mysql and php on windows xp.
    My wife has her own pc (also xp) and I want her to be able to view and use all the web pages and database on the developer machine in exactly the same way as I do.
    The two pcs are connected via a router and set up as a microsoft network. We can exchange documents in the shared documents folder but that is all.
    How and what should I do to allow her to access these web pages?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,633
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just have her go to the ip address or machine name and you should be good to go.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy rushiku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    A van down by the river
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    To expand on wwb's comment:

    On your computer:
    Press Windows Key + R, type cmd.
    Type ipconfig, note IP address (something like 192.168.1.101)

    On her computer
    Open a browser window
    Type your IP address in the address bar, press enter
    http://192.168.1.1XX/index.html should be displayed.
    Make a bookmark

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If only it was that simple.
    I can access the router from both machines at http://192.169.1.1 but when i try to access the server pc from wife's pc by typing http://192.168.1.3 (ip address of my pc) i get a timeout message.
    Do I need to configure something in the router? Firewall appears to be disabled.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,633
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, could well be the firewall, exactly how to disable it depends on what firewall(s) you might be running. If it is the default windows one, just allow Http traffic and you should be good to go.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have 'pinged' both pcs and they can see each other, firewall is disabled and http traffic allowed, but still getting timeout message. Router is a 'pluscom' 4 port and I dont understand the documentation - too much jargon.
    Not sure whether the problem is here or with the apache configuration which was set up as a developer when first installed. Is there anything in this config file that I should check and maybe change?

  7. #7
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,633
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not really an apache guy, but it could easily be setup to only listen on localhost (or 127.0.0.1). Look around httpd.conf for some hints.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have played around with it and not really got anywhere. Think the best thing to do with this is to get a mate round with a beer or two one evening and systematically go through our network.

  9. #9
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is Apache listening for connections on all IP adresses or just a Local Loopback?
    http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/en/bind.html
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Initiallly it was set just to
    listen 80

    I have now specified ip of hosting pc aswell with
    listen 192.168.1.3:80

    but this make no difference to the problem.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just to let you good guys know the problem is now sorted. It turned out that the apache server monitor was not listed in the exceptions list for windows firewall and consequesntly the program was being blocked.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •