SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    'Puter Turns On By Itself

    OK, now I know I am not crazy (well maybe just a little), but the past 3 nights I have shut down my computer and then I wake up in the morning and there it is...on again.

    What could be the problem?

  2. #2
    My precious!!! astericks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,971
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wow...sorry to say this but, this is a very funny [and annoying for you] problem.

    I've always heard of computers restarting but turning on by themselves...wow...never heard of it.

    If you have cable/dsl, i.e 24/7 connections, try unpluggin it for one nite and see if it restarts again. You never know these days, who is doing what to your computer.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nope, no cable/dsl, just a dial up.

  4. #4
    One website at a time mmj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    6,282
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's what it could be:

    Your computer is restarting due to a power failure, and you have your computer set to come on when power is resumed.

    Go into your CMOS setup and search for this setting. There may be three options: off, previous state, and on. "Previous State" should mean that if there's a power failure while your computer is shut down, it won't wake up. This may not work. If you set this setting to "off" you can be sure your computer won't "wake up" after a power outage.

    You have an application that has scheduled your computer to wake up at a certain time.

    Some applications can do this - such as the windows task scheduler. Even if this feature is disabled in your CMOS setup, windows applications can override this because they can use the APM or ACPI power interface.

    You have a Wake-On-Lan network card or a Wake-On-Modem modem, and you receive a wakeup signal in either, and you have this feature enabled in your CMOS setup.

    Check your CMOS setup.
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post Two things....

    1. Make sure that the computer si actually shutting down and not stopping half-way there.

    2. Check the BIOS. I have my computer set to start at 4am and this option is located in your BIOS before you even start windows. Now, I have never checked to see if this option is in windows itself, but check you energy saver options and power options in the control panel.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for all your advice!

    I actually think that I had left Mozilla on each time I shut down as the icon was in my system tray which I now removed. Hoping that fixed the problem.

    If not, I will run through all your tips here.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist spoondevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Harlow, Essex, UK
    Posts
    426
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am running WinXP, and when I go to Shut Down, it restarts - would be very annoying, but I always use the Hibernate feature.

    It also restarts when Restart is selected - They got something right.

    Has anyone heard of this happening before?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard dominique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    orbis terrarum
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot Andthensometoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a password in my bios (plus the windows start up one) to keep the kids off the PC, so that can't happen to me.

    btw, yes, I know it isn't bullet proof, but it does keep the brats from using it.
    "If you handle with products .. this is a word to see It"
    elvis.isnotalive.com
    My Complaint Dept
    Visit Interceptor's AV review

  10. #10
    SitePoint Evangelist spoondevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Harlow, Essex, UK
    Posts
    426
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like it could be the Roxio thing. It did resolve itself when I refomatted, but then it happened again.

    I will do as it says, and report back on it.


    Many Thanks
    Ian


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •