User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Unhappy Helpful advice needed.. Programmer Not an artist :(

Hi guys

I just have a quick question, What should a Web Programmers portfolio page look like?

I can do very basic designs in Photoshop , But my problem is i look at other websites which look very nice.

Now the problem i face is im a coder with not much of a graphical flair in comparison to some other graphics designers.

So im not sure what sort of content i should put on a programmers view portfolio.

I have done some classes to enable flash elements be updated, IE like dynamically generated XML documents and various Database functions
    Self written CMS systems. But again where i seem to fall flat on my face is when it comes down to design.....

Any help would be appreciated as far as what sort of designs i should aim towards.

I can write the following code
    PHP , MYSQL, (Basic Javascript) , ( Some Actionscript )

as well as the obvious markup languages..
    ( Basic > Advanced ( I think )) CSS,HTML etc..

Some of my designs can be seen at shabalaka.com/designs ( PS use the bottom set of links, Didnt have time to clean up the PHP script before going out sorry ) Any feedback on the designs would be appreciated, All images are copyright to their owners on some of them.
    The ClaimTracker image i had to remove the database for security reasons ( Investor addresses and such like , Hence the error displayed)

Any Help would be appreciated

Kind Regards Shab.
    Last edited by Shabalaka; Aug 27, 2009 at 07:49. Reason: Updating

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you want to show off your programming abilities then why not create some systems that the visitors can use. Create something like a log in system, maybe a custom captcha or anything else that requires a fair amount of programming.