SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Facebook? LinkedIn? Do they generate new business?

I am a freelance programmer and haven't joined either but do get invites from clients. Is one better than the other? I am mainly concerned about the privacy issues. Anyone can reconstruct your life by checking out your friends list. Are there real benefits in terms of generating new business or is it just hype & "I-have-more-friends-than-you" ego boosting? Does anyone get new business from these contacts?

SitePoint Enthusiast moneymaker1008's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're a freelancer I would definitely recommend LinkedIn. It's more professional and you can definitely make some quality contacts by joining groups. You can also boost your reputation by having people you've worked with in the past give you recommendations on your profile.

-Danielle

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a business profile for LinkedIn, my connections consist of clients and other business contacts I have made. I have also got business directly off LinkedIn

I have two Facebook profiles. One for personal use, it consists only of my close friends and family. My other page is for clients and business contacts. I only update it with business related items, and to chat with clients. It's friendly and personable, I think clients like that.

SitePoint Enthusiast moneymaker1008's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ikjosh View Post
    I have a business profile for LinkedIn, my connections consist of clients and other business contacts I have made. I have also got business directly off LinkedIn