SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    posting pictures using CSS

    I cannot get any of my pictures to download to my website. My code looks right, but they will not upload. I use picasa, edit pictures, transfer to folder on computer, but nothing. When I edit my web page it works just find, just doesn't work on the internet explorer.

  2. #2
    Ripe Tomatos silver trophybronze trophy Rayzur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,174
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,
    It's hard to say exactly what is wrong without seeing your code, if you have a link to your site just type it in without the www part and we can paste into our browsers.

    example- yoursite.com

    just doesn't work on the internet explorer.
    Make sure there is no gap after url in your image path and that there is a gap before a repeat rule if you are using one.

    background:#FFF url(images/example.jpg) repeat-x;

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    philipmichaelhomes is my website, maybe the photos are to large. when i work offline or when i am building the website everything works fine. it is only when i go to upload to my host the photos dont follow. if it is the size of the photo files does anyone know how to reduce the size to make them download? again the photos are in pacasa and i edit and export them to my website folders.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    philipmichaelhomes dot com (it won't let me put my website on here) not enough post yet

  5. #5
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,782
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry but ti doesn't even show in FF. Are you file names correct?
    ALso why are you using left:50% mragin-left:- halaf of it.

    Why not just ste a width and margin:0 auto;?
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  6. #6
    Ripe Tomatos silver trophybronze trophy Rayzur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,174
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://philipmichaelhomes.com/home.html

    Hi,
    I'm sorry but I would strongly suggest that you completely start over and get rid of all the absolute positioning that you are using. Absolute positioning is removed from the natural flow of a document hence the reason you have to set positioning values and heights on every element that is AP'd. I also noticed you using float:center; I'll go ahead and break it to you, there's no such thing. It is either left or right.

    Better to just use a simple float based layout with natural document flow and all elements contained in a single wrapping div. I have several examples you are welcome to look through.

    My CSS Demos
    Basic One Column Layout

    Also be sure to have a look through PMOB CSS Examples


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •