SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: NS 6 opacity

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    NS 6 opacity

    how do you do it?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you have to use filter:alpha.
    opacity can be between 0 -100. must give width of element for it to work... which is in itself a long shot. i have never really had much luck with this... i think it is a mozilla only treat so i don;t have much use for it beyond a bit of tinkering.

    <style>
    #example{width:100; height:100;}
    </style>


    <div id="example" style="filter:alpha(Opacity=50)">


    good luck.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    coffeeKid,

    What you posted is the IE way to do it (IE 5+ filters). Here's the Mozilla way to do it:
    Code:
    .someOpacity {
      -moz-opacity: 77%;
    }

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    okay, this is all well and good... but I already knew the MOZ and the IE way.... and I think I asked for the NS way lol

    ne 1 else know?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru bronze trophy blufive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    853
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Either:
    • [a]The mozilla way will work in netscape 6, or
      [b]It's a function added to mozilla since netscape 6 branched (0.9.4 for NS 6.2.x)


    if [a], everything's hunky dory.
    if [b], you're not going to get it working in Netscape 6, though the forthcoming netscape 7 is based on Mozilla 1.0, so it should work there

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well I know that the mozilla way doesn't work so I guess its [b] .... bugger :/

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Lunchy_Munchy
    and I think I asked for the NS way lol
    And I gave it to you. Netscape 6 is based on Mozilla code.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    shows how much I know about mozilla and ns, lol, I humbly take what I said back
    Last edited by Lunchy_Munchy; Jun 12, 2002 at 07:19.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Plus you could always just TRY the code offered and see for yourself.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I ALREADY had that code in my style sheet

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    And it works well, too.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •