SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Notice: This is a discussion thread for comments about the SitePoint article, Introducing the SitePoint Personas.

I think these personas describe a large range of people out there. All I can say is I find more differences than similarities with these 'people' and the people I know.

For one, my boss is very similar to Samuel (workaholic business owner) minus any technical skills relating to web (he comes from a graphic/print background). He would visit this site to keep up with the business blog, and learn bits as he goes along.

I myself, find I am split between 3 or so personas. I am a student AND work full-time desperately trying to get my foot in the door (Luckily I landed a job through TAFE and somehow have to balance it). I am not a troublemaker as I'm trying to do everything ethically (not trolling anyone, using legit software etc.). I'm a downright geek and will Google or Wikipedia just about everything. At the pace I move at I need information fast and like, yesterday man!(that's also why I use Chrome on Win 7RC1).

I'm looking forward to seeing what other personas people come up with.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you for this great article. I teach a class called "Website Advertising & Design Principles" and the first thing I have the students do is write personas (just like you have done - names, photos, background info, media habits, etc.) for the website they are working on. They then use these personas to create mock-ups of landing pages, home pages, registration forms, etc. I have found that having them create the personas helps them to focus on the calls to action and verbiage they should use on their pages, instead of trying to appeal to "everyone on the Internet".

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)