User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

OOP vs Old School PHP

Hi everyone, I am a traditional php coder that is trying to make the decision to switch to Object Oriented PHP. I have read some articles, watched some videos, and I am still not convinced it is worth switching to.

From what I gather the pro- oop folk seem to say that with oop you can:
    1. Create reusable blocks of code
    2. Have cleaner code
    3. Be Easier to update
    4. Be Easier for multiple programmers to work on
    5. Be better for complex projects
    6. Make the jump to other languages easier

But from my perspective using good old functions accomplishes all these things listed as well, and not one article or video i have found actually goes into any depth or real comparison as to why or how the oop way is actually better, they just say that it is.

I would love some real examples and comparisons between oop and old school functions. Or should i just stick with old school functions?

I am sure this topic has been brought up many times before, but what i want to see is real side by side comparisons to why one way is better than the other. From my perspective it seems like oop is more verbose than the way i do things now.

thanks for any input.

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not an expert programmer but I made the switch to object oriented php about 9 months ago. I went back to look at a project I finished a year ago and was surprised by how messy it looked. In my opinion, OO code just looks cleaner and is much easier to follow.
    Another big one that you also mentioned is re usability. I've not been working in OO long but i've already created some components which i've been able to reuse with very little effort.
    Follow Me On Twitter: BryceRay

Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged