SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Getting Number from Textfield

Hi,

Im new to actionscript 3.0 and am having problems with a simple tutorial i am following. The tutorial just shows how to setup an input textfield, a submit button and then a background area to print the result.

Here is the actionscript 3.0 code:

Code Actionscript:
    var body_txt:Textfield = new Textfield();
    var yourName:String;

body_text.x = 98;
    body_txt.y = 66;
    body_txt.autoSize = TextFieldAutoSize.LEFT;

submit_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, onClick);

function onClick(event:MouseEvent):void
    {
    	addChild(body_txt);
    	yourName = name_txt.text;
    	board_txt.text = yourName;
    }

This all works fine i.e. i test movie, insert text into the input field, press teh submit button and then it prints what i typed into the board_txt field.

Ok, here's the problem. I want to be able to type in numbers and then do a calculation and return the result. i have tried changing the second line to:

var yourName:Number;

but i get errors. I have also tried changing the bottom lines to:

yourName = name_txt.int;
    board_txt.int = yourName;

and

yourName = name_txt.number;
    board_txt.number = yourName;

but still getting errors.

Can someone tell me where im going wrong when trying to work with integers?

Thanks

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try yourName = Number(name_txt.text);
    Good Luck!
    There are things known and Things unknown
    And in between are the Doors.
    I love hand Coding.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Jim,

Nope, tried that but unfortunatly its still giving me errors. The error is "Implicit coercion of value type Number to an unrelated type String" for this line:

yourName = Number(name_txt.text);

SitePoint Evangelist ferrari_chris's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)