SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot ikjosh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Propagation issue?

    Hi,

    I put together a small website for a client, hosted on my server. When the client tries to pull up the site from their office, it's not able to find the website. (Google/Dell could not find page) But when I punch in another website that is hosted on the same server, it pulls right up on their computer. Could this be a DNS issue? Their office is within walking distance, pulls up fine at my office, from the DNS checks I have done seems everything is in working order.. Anyone have any idea what could be causing this? Site has been up for a few weeks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy ldcdc's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Ploiesti
    Posts
    4,474
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you try ipconfig /flushdns?

    http://www.tech-faq.com/flush-dns.shtml
    HostPeek.com - budget hosts, compared
    CouponsNexus.com - web hosting coupons

    Ultra Cheap Hosts | Web Hosting Reviews Forums

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot ikjosh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Idndc, tried that, no dice..

    Here is a SS of what they see..

    http://i32.tinypic.com/6t1v0p.jpg

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Could be alot of things need more info to solve this.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot ikjosh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    189
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by djgravy View Post
    Could be alot of things need more info to solve this.
    Absolutely... But what info?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    344
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Go over there and ping the site from the command line.

    See if it is the expected ip.

    Look for hosts files that they might have been using for local resolution.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot MikeDVB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Run a traceroute/ping to the domain and see if it goes where it's supposed to - if you get "unable to resolve domain" or something similar then it is definitely a DNS issue.

    Also you should run http://www.intodns.com/ on the domain just to make sure there are no basic DNS issues.
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting, LLC - Hosting over 8,500 domains!
    http://www.mddhosting.com/ - Celebrating 3 years in business!
    Serious Internet Solutions, LLC. - Quality Unmanaged VPS
    SeriousVPS - http://www.seriousvps.com

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard ~ServerPoint~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,813
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you checked name server settings? That could be the problem there as well
    ServerPoint.com - a true hosting company since 1998
    Web Hosting, colocation,
    dedicated servers, Virtual Private Server (VPS) hosting

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tracert should give the information, where exactly is the same blocked. Can the customer access the site via a Proxy site ?
    ------------
    hzSari | HostingZoom.com
    ModVPS.com | ResellerZoom.com
    Power Speed Reliability

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had a similar issue, The client had problems with his companies IT security. But did you say that you pulled another site from the same office and it pulled well?? i am sorry if i din't understand your question.

    Anyways, In my case, the client had every single unknown website blocked. it was simple resolution that they put it in trusted sites list and boom, it came up.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •