SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot sb225's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    hyderabad
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    subdomain creation

    I am trying to create subdomain for my site Ex forums.domain.com but it is not working i tried with another name forumd.domain.com and it worked however it shows subdomain has been created but dont works. I want the forums.domain.com but still it is unable to resolve it
    I contacted to the host but i think i will get reply late. anyone knows how to resolve this

  2. #2
    Non-Member thewebhostingdir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You need to have wild card (*) records pointing to your web server IP address. If this is not added, your subdomain will not work. You can also manually add forums A records pointing to your web server IP address. Please check this setting in your DNS zones for your domain.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot sb225's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    hyderabad
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    where to check DNS and what should i check
    whether you mean my domain on dnstuff.com ?

  4. #4
    Non-Member thewebhostingdir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sb225 View Post
    where to check DNS and what should i check
    whether you mean my domain on dnstuff.com ?
    You will need to check whether the * record is added on your DNS zone. You can check this record from your hosting control panel.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot sb225's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    hyderabad
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by thewebhostingdir View Post
    You will need to check whether the * record is added on your DNS zone. You can check this record from your hosting control panel.
    I have checked in my cpanel and i dont see the DNS zone i thin i dont have permissions.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot MikeDVB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    174
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you using your provider's nameservers or nameservers somewhere else?

    If you are using the nameservers provided by your hosting provider you should contact them to ask them to help you resolve this for you (as it's part of their job).
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting, LLC - Hosting over 8,500 domains!
    http://www.mddhosting.com/ - Celebrating 3 years in business!
    Serious Internet Solutions, LLC. - Quality Unmanaged VPS
    SeriousVPS - http://www.seriousvps.com

  7. #7
    Non-Member thewebhostingdir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    in cPanel, you can not check the DNS records. Kindly consult your web hosting and check their if the * (wild record) is added pointing to the web server itself or not.

    This can be seen from the WHM of your web server. Your hosting company only can access it.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard ~ServerPoint~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,813
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The subdomain you are using should be added to the cpanel account. You need to consider that subdomain as absolutely new and independent domain name
    ServerPoint.com - a true hosting company since 1998
    Web Hosting, colocation,
    dedicated servers, Virtual Private Server (VPS) hosting

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try to add domain via cpanel control panel.
    || Search Engine Optimization Tips
    || Discuss About Web Hosting
    || http://seo.silentdollars.name

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is DNS / subdomain folder configurations problems. I think only waiting reply from your hosting provider will solve your problems, if the subdomain still cant function properly from the setup from CPanel.
    Cheers!
    Roy
    Tagged on latest ASP.NET Hosting technologies and features.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did not know about the process of creating subdomain...learned a few essential things from here


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •