SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru Todd Temple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    797
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Anchor Tags Not Working

    LINK-
    http://www.securehostserver.info/lcwc/resources/

    I have text links in the sidebar and in the main column that are not working in Internet Explorer 6. Works fine in Sarari and Firefox on a Mac.

    Any ideas why?
    Todd Temple > T2 Design

  2. #2
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They also work in Opera, and since the markup validates it's unlikely to be a markup issue.

    One common cause for this sort of problem is that you have a transparent element that lies on top of the links in IE. I'm at home right now, where I use GNU/Linux, so I don't have access to IE for testing. But I think it's more likely to be a CSS issue than an (X)HTML issue.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  3. #3
    Resident curmudgeon bronze trophy gary.turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    990
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1. My IE6 on Win98se crashed on loading the page.

    2. Disabling scripting let the page load.

    3. All links work.

    4. Blame the script.

    5. Remove the png images and the pngFixer.js from IE6.

    cheers,

    gary
    Anyone can build a usable website. It takes a graphic
    designer to make it slow, confusing, and painful to use.

    Simple minded html & css demos and tutorials

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru Todd Temple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    797
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by gary.turner View Post
    Blame the script. cheers, gary
    Is there a perfect PNG fix that would better suit this specific situation? Sounds like I should never use PNGs again unless I want to play with workarounds all day.
    Todd Temple > T2 Design

  5. #5
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,782
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, I gave this answer in your other thread already. The PNGfix is the cause of it (your using my script) and as such a side effct in IE6 is that sometimes links aren't clickable.

    Giving position:relative; to the anchors work (form inpputs sometimes suffer from this

    http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/showthread.php?t=631826
    Always looking for web design/development work.
    http://www.CodeFundamentals.com

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,287
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Todd:
    your other option is to substitute gifs for pngs... I didn't see the page so I dunno what the transparency is used for, but since png's with semi-transparency are so much bigger than flat ones, I usually try to see if the transparency can be faked first. Then you can keep your PNG, working even in IE6.

    You could try the Fireworks solution if you have access to Fireworks: http://www.sitepoint.com/blogs/2007/...-clear-winner/

    If you can make use of background images, giving the gif to IE6 and lower is no problem:
    #element {
    background: the png;
    }
    * html #element {background: the gif;}

    So, some other options to think about, while also considering the script. My allergy to Javascript means I'm always trying the above stuff first.

    *edit I took a look... took me a darn long time to load that page in FF3. Whoa, that PNG at the top is 297.74 KB. Either crush that file, or jpg it. That should not be loading like I'm in the 90's while we supposedly have ADSL here.
    The links themselves dont' have the transparency... so you're only using it for the drop shadow?

    Either don't let IE6 even get the drop shadow (running a whole fat script just to show a drop shadow in an ancient browser doesn't seem like the Right Thing to Do, esp for a page not in the Graphics industry), or make a dropshadow with that repeating background already in there, and flatten it. No transparency needed (so long as the window's not actively being resized, likely nobody can even see where the repeating background doesn't line up if it doesn't).

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Open the page is 404

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru Todd Temple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    797
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This original link is no longer available as the site has moved to its permanent location. See the link below.

    LINK-
    http://www.lowerclinchwatershed.org/
    Todd Temple > T2 Design


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •