SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Wibblesticks Gryff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Asgard
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Browser Stuff - looks significantly different between IE and mozilla

    A site someone has designed for me, looks vastly different in IE & Mozilla, mainly due to the borders not appearing in Mozilla
    the site it
    http://www.valkyrie-gaming.com/cw/
    any ideas?
    In a world where the human mind
    can be programmed like a computer,
    at what point does the human soul end
    and the cybernetic machinery begin?

  2. #2
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    First put IE 6.0 in strict mode by throwing a DTD specification in there. Try HTML 4.01 Transitional since the code will never hold up to the XHTML 1.0 transitional at this time.

    Then fix the CSS so things like:
    Code:
    border-bottom: 0
    Don't exist. It should be:
    Code:
    border-bottom: 0px;
    Finally, I would take all the CSS out of the file and declare it properly in its own files and use classes instead of constantly redeclaring the same CSS over and over again.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  3. #3
    Wibblesticks Gryff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Asgard
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <table cellspacing="3" cellpadding="0" height="100%" width="100%"><tr><td valign="top" height="100%">
    <table cellspacing="0" cellpadding="3" width="100%" height="100%" style="border: #999999 1 solid">
    <tr><td height="100%" valign="top">

    <table cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" width="100%" height="100%"><tr><td width="50%" valign="top">

    <table cellspacing="0" cellpadding="2" width="100%">
    <tr><td style="border: #999999 1 dotted; border-bottom: 0px;"><b>
    <h5>News [20/05/2002]</b></td></tr>
    <tr><td style="border: #999999 1 solid"><div align="justify">



    thats what it is atm, I changed one of them, what should they be like?
    In a world where the human mind
    can be programmed like a computer,
    at what point does the human soul end
    and the cybernetic machinery begin?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Miami Fl
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs down

    That page isn't quite CSS based. As the previous person stated, put any style declarations into a seperate style sheet; fonts, sizes, backgrounds, borders, etc.

    I would personally go so far as to completely remove all tables and make it a complete CSS formatted page.
    -= Eric

  5. #5
    SitePoint Columnist Skunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas
    Posts
    2,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you put it through the w3 validator? That's usually a good start for getting pages to display the same in different browsers.

    http://validator.w3.org/

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by W. Luke
    Then fix the CSS so things like:
    Code:
    border-bottom: 0
    Don't exist. It should be:
    Code:
    border-bottom: 0px;
    Wayne,

    You only need to specify units for nonzero numbers. So border-bottom: 0; is perfectly fine.

  7. #7
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually Netscape and Opera prefer units specified for all units including 0 ones. Since it is only a couple characters in a style sheet and linked style sheets are cached, it doesn't hurt to do that.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by W. Luke
    Actually Netscape and Opera prefer units specified for all units including 0 ones.
    Actually, "After a '0' number, the unit identifier is optional." That's according to the W3C, so don't take my word for it. Plus, the question I'll pose to you is this: Which unit do you use to define none of something? See where I'm going with this? That's why it's optional to specify a unit after a zero.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •