SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Wink How do you generate income from a humour site?

Heya everyone,

Some time ago I met an English guy here in Spain and he told me that he had a humour site and earned 300$-400$ a month with it.

I'm a beginner in Web marketing (although I'm good in design and programming). And I wanted to ask if someone could tell me how you make money on a jokes site.

Do you sell your banner space? Your links? Who would buy it???

thanks

Wit

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Money from a humor site can come from:

- advertising space in newsletter
    - sold newsletter co-registrations
    - advertising links on web site
    - advertising banner on web site

Some humor sites have tried other things such as paid subscriptions, but I wouldn't recommend that at the moment.

"Who would buy it?"

You'll need a large number of subscribers to sell your newsletter ad space, but unfortunately, you may not make any money until you have a large number of subscribers. It is also important to decide upon a subscription model: opt-in, confirmed opt-in or paid.

Would I would recommend though is that you talk to other humor webmasters. They will generally want to help you get started by sharing links and content with you (not to mention hints and advice).
    Last edited by mmj; Jun 8, 2002 at 05:51.
    [mmj] My magic jigsaw
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The Bit Depth Blog Twitter Contact me
    Neon Javascript Framework Jokes Android stuff

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Take a look at Joe Catroons Site as I believe it's probably one of the most successful humor sites around. It's killing me now because I know I recently read an article about just how successful they were and how they make their money...but for the life of me I can't remember where I read it!

Cheers,

Steve

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged