SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Convert website to wordpress

    Hi,

    Someone told me about converting my website to wordpress. Just for the ease of it and the fact that I will be updating it from the road so the easier the better.

    How hard is it to convert an existing website into wordpress?

    www.leehughes.co.uk

    My concerns are the 3D route page and the dropdown menu and jquery lightbox for videos.

    thanks
    p.s how much would someone charge to do this? I have someone who is willing to convert it but I have no idea of a price to charge

  2. #2
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,578
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are a number of themes and plugins that support dropdown navigation like that out of the box, either using category hierarchy or page hierarchy as the basis.

    You could look at the code behind some of the free themes from WooThemes.com and see how they do the menu:
    http://www.woothemes.com/2009/07/mainstream/

    WordPress is bundled with jQuery already, so continuing to use that shouldn't pose any problems.

    You can put whatever HTML you have in the body of your pages now in the body of a WordPress post or page, so reproducing the 3D route page should also pose no problem.

    I've migrated existing sites to WordPress before and it wasn't that much trouble. Chop up the design to fit into header, footer, body and sidebar pieces and start reproducing files as WordPress pages. You can even include PHP code in the body of a post with a plugin like Exec-PHP.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot John LA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    164
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Converting it to wordpress can take time but it will be easy for you to update the site in the future once you've installed it.

    Wordpress is very SEO-friendly. You can rank in Google in hours after you post (if done correctly).

    So I say, give it a go.
    BULK Article Writing! Fast Turn-Around Time. Quality Articles!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member mknight1234's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    wordpress is a platorform for blog , am i right?
    then convert a website to WP ?
    what do u mean??

  5. #5
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,578
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mknight1234 View Post
    wordpress is a platorform for blog , am i right?
    then convert a website to WP ?
    what do u mean??
    It's primarily used for blogging, but it's good as any other basic CMS under the hood.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member mknight1234's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    wow, oaky , got that
    thanx DAN
    i need to know more abt WP anyway

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think its not that easy!maybe if you develop a new website made up of wordpress.But and existing website to wordpress I really don't think its possible.

  8. #8
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,578
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave011 View Post
    But and existing website to wordpress I really don't think its possible.
    How can you say that after I said I've already done it?

  9. #9
    Word Painter silver trophy Shyflower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Winona, MN USA
    Posts
    10,053
    Mentioned
    142 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I recently converted my website to WordPress. It was incredibly easy. The most time it took was writing new content for WP pages and transferring some of my old static content to WP pages.

    In my situation, I had a blog attached to my static website and moved the blog to my root directory. I read through this file in the WP Codex before I began the switch.

    The most difficult thing was to get a link to my blog from the home page. I had to do a lot of searching for "how", but finally found the following information:

    http://wordpress.org/support/topic/242865 .

    First, I made a template blog.php inserting this code (I don't remember where I found it or I'd pass that on):

    Code:
    /*
    Template Name: Blog
    */
    
    
    
    // Which page of the blog are we on?
    <?php$paged = get_query_var('paged');
    query_posts('cat=-0&paged='.$paged);
    
    // make posts print only the first part with a link to rest of the post.
    global $more;
    $more = 0;
    
    //load index to show blog
    load_template(TEMPLATEPATH . '/index.php');
    ?>

    Then I made a blank page (not a post) and named it blog and designated it to use the blog.php template. The result is that http://mysite.com/blog goes to the first page of my blog.
    Linda Jenkinson
    "Say what you mean. Mean what you say. But don't say it mean." ~Unknown

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys..

    The person I was in contact with to do this for me can't do it anymore so am doing it myself which should be fun

    But it's all a learning experience eh!

    I will let you know how am getting on

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    not going well erlkkk

    http://www.leehughes.co.uk/wordpress/

    Code is acting different from dreamweaver site for some reason

  12. #12
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,578
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    jQuery is not loaded so all the JavaScript is broken.

    Here are several methods to load jQuery in your theme:
    http://themocracy.com/2009/04/using-...ith-wordpress/

  13. #13
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is only google analytics using javascript on that page. I only use Jquery for photos and videos.

  14. #14
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,578
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by leehughes View Post
    There is only google analytics using javascript on that page. I only use Jquery for photos and videos.
    Regardless, you're calling it on every page, and it's breaking your JS. Your GA code is broken as well due to some weird line wrapping your editor might have done.

    Code:
        <script type="text/javascript">
        var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
        document.write(unescape("&#37;3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' 
        
        type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
        </script>
        <script type="text/javascript">
        try {
        var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-9391160-1");
        pageTracker._trackPageview();
        } catch(err) {}</script>
    	
    	
    	<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8">
    		$(document).ready(function(){
    			$("a[rel^='prettyPhoto']").prettyPhoto({
    				animationSpeed: 'normal', /* fast/slow/normal */
    				padding: 40, /* padding for each side of the picture */
    				opacity: 0.75, /* Value betwee 0 and 1 */
    				showTitle: true, /* true/false */
    				allowresize: true, /* true/false */
    				counter_separator_label: '/', /* The separator for the gallery counter 1 "of" 2 */
    				theme: 'dark_rounded', /* light_rounded / dark_rounded / light_square / dark_square */
    				callback: function(){}
    			});
    		});
    	</script>
    
    	<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8">
    		$(document).ready(function(){
    			$(".gallery a[rel^='prettyPhoto']").prettyPhoto({theme: 'dark_rounded'});
    
    			code.init();
    		});
    		</script>

  15. #15
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for the info

    well spotted

  16. #16
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Starting to get the hang of it.

    Figured out how to fix my dropdown menu and have validated the page..

    I have also got rid of GA and Jquery as I will install them via popular widgets later on.

    I do have a problem though.. my right slidebar does not go all the way down to the bottom of the page.

    www.leehughes.co.uk
    as you can see my right sidebar will extend with this site..

    But www.leehughes.co.uk/wordpress

    This is not the case, what is interesting is that it is the same code..

    Am puzzled


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •