SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict dgroves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    "Ad-Hoc" type wired netwrok - Is it possible?

    Hi,

    Is it possible to set-up and "Ad-Hoc" type wired network between two computers? If so any hints as to how on a Mac (ideally to and ubuntu machine, but I can live with windows if need be).

    Thanks,
    Dan.

  2. #2
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You mean connect two PC together though the Ethernet port? Sure, just use a crossover cable (or converter). I would also assume OS X, Ubuntu would also utilize APIPA like Windows.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict dgroves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So, this cannot be done with a normal ethernet cable?

  4. #4
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sadly not, to connect two of the same device requires a set of wires to be flipped. Unless the device has an uplink port or auto-sensing ports that turns into an uplink. But would be hard pressed to fine a computer with such a feature.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  5. #5
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,580
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've used one computer to provide internet access to another over normal ethernet. Did it once in a dorm where I only had wireless, used a laptop's built in wireless to give a wired desktop a connection. Until recently I was providing my Xbox 360 with an internet connection over an ethernet cable from a desktop.

    In all cases I just connected the computers and turned on Internet Connection Sharing through Windows.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict dgroves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Grossman View Post
    I've used one computer to provide internet access to another over normal ethernet. Did it once in a dorm where I only had wireless, used a laptop's built in wireless to give a wired desktop a connection. Until recently I was providing my Xbox 360 with an internet connection over an ethernet cable from a desktop.

    In all cases I just connected the computers and turned on Internet Connection Sharing through Windows.
    Yep, done that before, doing it on a Mac is by far easier than on windows.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict dgroves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @logic_earth cant reply to you message properly for some reason, but thats annoying. Thanks.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    56
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Grossman View Post
    I've used one computer to provide internet access to another over normal ethernet. Did it once in a dorm where I only had wireless, used a laptop's built in wireless to give a wired desktop a connection. Until recently I was providing my Xbox 360 with an internet connection over an ethernet cable from a desktop.

    In all cases I just connected the computers and turned on Internet Connection Sharing through Windows.
    It should be pointed out that this only works if at least one of the computers has an auto-sensing NIC. If neither do, you'll need a crossover ethernet cable. (I believe the XBox 360's NIC is auto-sensing for instance.)


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •