SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question IT Degree - Why does it suck???

I have been programming for a few years now as a hobby. Some days I love it, some days I don't even want to think about it.

I just registered for college and I will be starting in August. I originally was going to do a Computer Service Tech. program, but decided not to because there is a VERY low demand for those people in my area. Unless I want to work at a Best Buy for the rest of my life making $8.00/hr. The other repair centers around here are all "mom-and-pop" deals and they don't hire anyone.

Then I thought that becoming a service person is going to be rather pointless in the end because computers are so easy to fix now days that any moron can just pull out the old video card, pop in the new one and be on their way, and why would someone pay me $40/hr. to fix their computer when they can buy a new one for $300.00 now days?

I then decided to go into an Associate Science Degree program called "IT WA/P". It's a web Analyst/Programmer program.

I'm just stuck on what I should do because I don't want to keep switching programs, and school starts in less then a month.

What's turning me off is that I read all these threads here, and it sounds like everyone is getting burned out and completely hates their jobs. Like is such a bad thing. I mean it beats working in a factory for $10.00/hr. busting your balls all day long with underpaid overworked highschool drop out, pissed at the world, managers, or working at McDonalds dealing with idiotic customer orders and people complaining because their extra cheese, no lettuce, no tommato, easy mayo, add ketchup, no onions, add bacon, well done burger is not made correctly during the middle of a holiday lunch hour.