SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    CCS Cross Broswer Question.

    I've built my menu using CCS. Each menu item uses a height and a width attribute. In IE, looks great, but in Netscape, it's like it doesn't know how to read those attributes. Is there a workaround for this or is it just a limitation with Netscape? Thanks!

    JRF2k
    Man can learn nothing except by going from the known to the the unknown. -- Claude Bernard

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think you mean CSS, not CCS. If this isn't the case, I'm afraid I don't know what you're talking about!

    Would you be able to post the code that you are currently using so that we may help discover the problem?

    -Colin
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, please post code or a link to the issue so we can check it out. Also, what version of Netscape are you talking about? 3, 4, 6, 7?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot themissingelf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No seen your code, however, I'm guessing you're using borders to make buttons?

    If this is the case try including:

    position : relative

    in the stylesheet.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ACK! I always do that CCS, instead of CSS!

    Anyway, the url is www.johnrfloyd.com/Synthesys. The Stylesheet can be found at www.johnrfloyd.com/Synthesys/stylesheet/ss.css if you want to take a look.

    Yes, I am using borders to make the buttons. Will using position: relative; mess up how the buttons look on the page now or just make it look the same in both browsers?

    Thanks for the replies everyone!

    JRF2k
    Man can learn nothing except by going from the known to the the unknown. -- Claude Bernard

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It works in Mozilla; therefore it will work in the newer iterations of Netscape. If you're talking about Navigator/4.x then it isn't going to work. Best ignore that -- not many people continue to use 4.x; it is being phased out by the newer releases. Really, nothing can be done aside from using images. I would recommend forgetting about 4.x. Its time has passed.

    -Colin
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's interesting. I downloaded the newest version of Netscape. The only thing that happens between the two browsers is you see in IE how the button text is centered and there is whitespace on either side of the words, well, in Netscape the boxes around the words have no whitespace. That what I was trying to change.

    JRF2k
    Man can learn nothing except by going from the known to the the unknown. -- Claude Bernard

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ohh. I see what you're referring about. This idea just popped into my head. Instead of using link classes, use div classes -- I think that would make it work in both browsers.
    Code:
    <!-- SS.css -->
    div.menu{
    	border-style: solid;
    	border-width: 2px;
    	border-color: #617C8F;
    	height: 10px;
    	width: 160px;
    	text-align: center;
    	margin: 1px;
    	color: #000000;
    	background: #ffffff;
    	font-family: courier new, courier, monospace;
    	font-size: smaller;
    }
    a.menu:link, a.menu:visited, a.menu:active{
    	text-decoration: none;
    	color: #000000;
    	background: #ffffff;
    } 
    a.menu:hover{
    	text-decoration: none ;
    	color: #ffffff ; 
    	background: #000000 ;
    }
    Code:
    <base target="main">
    	<div class="menu"><a class="menu" href="main.html">Home</a></div><br>
    	<div class="menu"><a class="menu" href="">Performance CDs</a></div><br>
    	<div class="menu"><a class="menu" href="">Personal Growth CDs</a></div><br>
    	<div class="menu"><a class="menu" href="">Music CDs</a></div><br>
    	<div class="menu"><a class="menu" href="">Coaching</a></div><br>
    	<div class="menu"><a class="menu" href="">CD Packages</a></div><br>
    	<div class="menu"><a class="menu" href="">FAQ</a></div><br>
    	<div class="menu"><a class="menu" href="">Testimonials</a></div><br>
    	<div class="menu"><a class="menu" href="">Links</a></div><br>
    Then just apply the mouseover link effects within the div elements. Tell me if that works.

    -Colin
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks! I'll give it a try in the morning and let you know how it goes.

    JRF2k
    Man can learn nothing except by going from the known to the the unknown. -- Claude Bernard

  10. #10
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi JRF2K,

    I was unable to view your page - Not Found.
    Working on your description, if you used the height attribute in your style sheet, it'll not work in Netscape 4. However, it works fine in IE>4/NS6,Mozilla/Opera.

    A workaround if required would be to specify the height attribute in standard html on your pages.
    Last edited by lynlimz; Jun 7, 2002 at 01:41.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Aes,

    I did as you suggested, but that messes up the effect I have going. What I mean is the background doesn't change to black and text to white. I did fool around a bit and I got the effect back but it only does the word and not the whole bordered element.


    lynlimz,

    Do you mean to use inline CSS statements in the HTML document instead of linking to the stylesheet?


    JRF2k
    Man can learn nothing except by going from the known to the the unknown. -- Claude Bernard

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by JRF2k
    ... Do you mean to use inline CSS statements in the HTML document instead of linking to the stylesheet? ...
    Lyon means to use standard HTML instead of CSS to specify the height.

    Meanwhile, I'll try to think of a workaround with the divs.

    -Colin
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  13. #13
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by JRF2k
    lynlimz,

    Do you mean to use inline CSS statements in the HTML document instead of linking to the stylesheet?


    JRF2k
    Yep. Thanks Colin =)
    I personally haven't encountered any workarounds to a situation as a result of using inline CSS and with to external stylesheets.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein

  14. #14
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by lynlimz
    ... I personally haven't encountered any workarounds to a situation as a result of using inline CSS and with to external stylesheets.
    Then I'm sure I will not be able to find a workaround either.

    By the way, nice seeing you around here again Lyon. It's been a while.

    -Colin
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  15. #15
    The Hiding One lynlimz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,103
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Aes
    Then I'm sure I will not be able to find a workaround either.

    By the way, nice seeing you around here again Lyon. It's been a while.

    -Colin
    Haha. I was hoping someone would pop round and see if they can enlighten me on that aspect.

    Yep =) Just popping around again
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
    -- Albert Einstein


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •