SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Thread: Help with RSS

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Help with RSS

Hi there. I am an ASP Classic developer and I need to learn more about RSS. As an experiment, I have already managed to create my own RSS feed (using RSSBuilder) and that's about it.

How do people subscribe to the thread? What happend when they do? And most important, where can I find an RSS ticker that does NOT rely on PHP?

Obviously I need to learn a lot more on the subject. Can someone please point me in the direction to go for more info on RSS and its application / uses.

I am very grateful for all replies. Thanx.
    Bill Conté [Protected by Psalm 91]
    Web Mechanix
    Growing OLD is Mandatory - Growing UP is Optional!

Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    194 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    A RSS feed is an XML file, when someone "subscribes" they are telling their feed reader, either a separate app or built into their browser or from a script on a web page, to check that URL and get the contents it returns. Kind of like if you had multiple sites loaded into browser tabs that would load the sites when you opened the browser. In other words, you don't need to type in the HTTP request every time.

There are RSS APIs for PHP, Ruby, and Javascript, and I'm sure there are some for ASP (and any other language) too, though I am unfamilliar with any.

Follow: @AlexDawsonUK silver trophybronze trophy AlexDawson's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)