SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Joomla OR Wordpress

Hey,

I want to make an e-commerce website and also include blogs. Now i know wordpress is good for using blogs, but i have recently become aware of joomla and have been advised to use it.

Can anybody help me? If you think Joomla, then can anyone provide a link to help me install and use it step by step..

Thanks
    Regards
    Billy

From Italy with love silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    163 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    www.joomla.org

Of course, you might have found that yourself googling for it.
    And this question has nothing to do with PHP.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey,

Well, i was getting onto the PHP bit

How would creating a website using Joomla change the way i write my code? I have never used WP or Joomla before you see so i have loads of questions...

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Joomla and WP aren't coding frameworks. They're applications. You download them and install them. There's no coding needed.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey,

Thanks for replying. So which would you consider to be better to match what i am trying to acheive?

I am creating an e-commerce website and want to include blogs...

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How would creating a website using Joomla change the way i write my code? I have never used WP or Joomla before you see so i have loads of questions...
    Joomla is a better architectural design, but it's user interface isn't the clearest, whereas WordPress wins hands down in this regard.

As far as programming, Joomla has a better interface, but building components isn't easy and is poorly documented and seems only a few are willing to help in the forums. It's a real trial by error approach.