SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Idea for a new kind of web company...

I need your input! Please, I know this looks lengthy but if you have a free 5-7 minutes, I would be very appreciative!

I have been a software developer for about 7 years now mainly working with middle tier web applications in PHP and now moving over to ASP dot NET. I have recently become frustrated by the increasing volume of work my employer is expecting of me; my job has evolved into the role of R&D, IT guy, project manager, database administrator, front end developer, backend developer and web designer (all without a pay increase).

I’ve become my companies “jack of all (web) trades”

So, I asked my boss to hire more people to help take some of my day-to-day tasks. In short, we ended up going through about 5 guys in a matter of weeks – 3 semi-questionable guys from oDesk and 2 personal “friends” of my boss who I knew had no real skills (weekend coding warriors).

The Pitch

Create a website/service that is based around a community of well-qualified professionals that work only within their strongest skill set. The process of selecting professionals will be rigorous and requires a solid track record of quality work. The community will vote on which prospects to bring onto the team, which ones will become project managers, team leaders, etc.

This will not be some lame directory for web professionals or a freelance job posting site! It will be a fully functional “company” made up of professionals who self-regulate and communicate how to effectively (and profitably) run the site.