SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Browser Issue

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Browser Issue

    Hi

    just curious as to why in some browsers if I enter a keyword in the address bar... for example "google" the browser will automatically enter the "www" for you and populate the page while in some browsers if you enter a keyword in the address bar it just brings to a "page not found" with relevant link recommendations?


    Am I missing a setting? Please help ... thx

  2. #2
    Follow: @AlexDawsonUK silver trophybronze trophy AlexDawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    8,111
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    It is all down to the features that come with the web browser, some have them, some do not, it really is as simple as that.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot extreme-seo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Srilanka
    Posts
    102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have never heard this before. I think in every browser you need to press shift+enter, if you don't want to write the 'www'. Still if any browser enters triple-w from his side then you can never open websites like blogsearch.google as it do not have any www.

    Which browser do have this type of features?

  4. #4
    whagwan? silver trophybronze trophy akritic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,780
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by extreme-seo View Post

    Which browser do have this type of features?
    Opera and Firefox. Opera's handling of this is not expert, and often it is easier just to use custom search to define it. I'm not sure if Firefox requires a plug-in for this, or if it is in-built.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy bluedreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Middle England
    Posts
    3,349
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can type a word or phrase in Firefox's address field and it will do a web search for you. It will sometimes just redirect you to a "relevant" site, but failing that you'll get a results page. Try it by typing "sitepoint" and see where you land

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    1,284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by diCe_Spadez View Post
    Hi

    just curious as to why in some browsers if I enter a keyword in the address bar... for example "google" the browser will automatically enter the "www" for you and populate the page while in some browsers if you enter a keyword in the address bar it just brings to a "page not found" with relevant link recommendations?


    Am I missing a setting? Please help ... thx
    This is because of the web server not a web browser. They are redirecting all non-www links to www when you browse. It depends on the web site, not the browser.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •