SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict goma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    smelly armpit of Asia
    Posts
    305
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    is it just me...

    ...or is the text on this page

    http://www.informit.com/member/register.asp?session_id={52EB02D8-F134-4273-AAB2-6C6E019EAEB8}


    unreadable? I'm using 1024 x 768 and even at 800 x 600 its still unreadable.

    What's surprising is that I see more and more of text like this in other sites. Is there something wrong with my monitor or did the designers of these pages really screw up with the font size?

    Or is this some sort of cutting edge design trends, you know, like grid background, 45 degree angles and arrows

    FYI, I'm using a 17 inch Viewsonic GT775
    http://www.soapbox101.com

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard samsm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    5,011
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    With or without the {52EB02D8-F134-4273-AAB2-6C6E019EAEB8} part of the link I am brought to a new user registration page on which there is no particularly unreadable text.
    Using your unpaid time to add free content to SitePoint Pty Ltd's portfolio?

  3. #3
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    perfectly readable to me at 1152 x 864...

  4. #4
    Currently Occupied; Till Sunda Andrew-J2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by samsm
    With or without the {52EB02D8-F134-4273-AAB2-6C6E019EAEB8} part of the link I am brought to a new user registration page on which there is no particularly unreadable text.
    i had the same, although i do like small print any way, looks fine

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict goma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    smelly armpit of Asia
    Posts
    305
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, now I'm getting confused.

    Here's a screenshot of what I see on my end..

    http://www.mydestiny.net/~bcacenas/screen.htm
    http://www.soapbox101.com

  6. #6
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    nah, it looks way bigger for me

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard samsm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    5,011
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Looks like the IE CSS bug.. strange beacuse they are using browser detection, here they have detected my mac using IE and adjusted the stylesheet as needed:
    PHP Code:
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="/stylesheets/mac_ie.css" type="text/css"
    If I recall... some browsesrs handle certain forms of css measurment differently than others, IE 4.x was particularly bad. You'd think they'd detect your version and correct it but... obviously not.
    Using your unpaid time to add free content to SitePoint Pty Ltd's portfolio?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Don't know what browser/os combo you're using but you might have accidentally changed your text size settings. With IE, go to View > Text Size and make sure it's set to medium.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  9. #9
    Currently Occupied; Till Sunda Andrew-J2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by platinum
    nah, it looks way bigger for me
    actually its probably the same size as were viewing it, its just where that pic's been sqauashed in the browser

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree with creole. The problem seems to happen a lot more often when using a mouse with a scroll wheel on it, because all you have to do is hold down CTRL and scroll the wheel to change the text size. So sometimes when I'm pressing shortcuts, I accidentally also roll the mouse wheel, and it gets kinda annoying.

    Just in case you don't believe that we can see the text at normal size, here's a screenshot for you.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict goma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    smelly armpit of Asia
    Posts
    305
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Creole's right

    I check my text size in IE and it was on "smaller". How that changed my my default "medium" is beyond me. Matt's suggestion could have caused it.
    http://www.soapbox101.com

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep...it's the scroll wheel. It happens to me all the time.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard samsm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    5,011
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'll note that the "bug" I mentioned only affects IE 4.x on Mac
    Not a good week for me and information.
    Using your unpaid time to add free content to SitePoint Pty Ltd's portfolio?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •