SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Date calculations hurt my brain

I am developing an application that involves users signing up for a monthly subscription. They can terminate this subscription at any time - if they do so, their subscription will expire the next time the monthly payment is due.

So in my DB I have a subscription start date of, for example, 2009-06-24. On August 25 (2009-08-25) the subscriber decides they want out, and terminates. Now, I want their subscription to expire, in this case, on 2009-09-24, so they get all the full months they paid for. I want to calculate this expiry date as soon as they terminate, and store it in the DB.

My question is - how do I work out the expiry date? I have the subscription start date (and therefore the date the monthly charge is made), and obviously I have today's date... but I can't figure out how I use these to calculate the expiry date.

Any help most appreciated.

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You might want to keep a running expiry date that gets updated whenever the user buys more time.

But some common ways to add dates
    Code:
    mysql
    select foo + INTERVAL 1 month
    PHP Code:
    $new_timestamp strtotime('+ 1 month'$reference_timestamp); 
    You could also use mktime(), by using date('H', $reference_timestamp) to feed it each argument, and just add 1 to the month argument.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by crmalibu View Post
    You might want to keep a running expiry date that gets updated whenever the user buys more time.
    Thanks for the response.

Unfortunately the date on which the user buys more time is established by a third-party payment processor, so I can't keep a running expiry date.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)