SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Content not displayed???

    For some reason, my site is not displaying when I use IE8 but it shows under Firefox. Anyone know what I have done wrong?

    www.instantcomputerconsultant.com

    Thanks,

    Jon

  2. #2
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It might be one of the over 30 validation errors. (Then again, it may not.)

    The first script looks very suspicious. You can't have the character sequence '</' anywhere within a <script> element, since it terminates it. You need to escape it as '<\/' – or better yet, use an external script.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But the "</" is from Google Analytics. They give you that code to use.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Google aren't exactly know for their commitment to web standards. Just look at the markup they use for their own pages!

    I'm not saying that the bad script code is to blame, but it might very well confuse some browsers. Besides, assuring valid markup is usually a good idea before doing any other form of trouble-shooting.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    1,432
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by AutisticCuckoo View Post
    Google aren't exactly know for their commitment to web standards. Just look at the markup they use for their own pages!.
    That is so true, finally someone said it

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sure. The thing is it was working fine a couple of weeks ago and now its not. I wonder if its something to do with the popup maybe. It all works splendidly in Firefox.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It seems to work in Opera as well.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IE8 shows an exclamation mark on the bottom left of its window, suggesting an error. Is there any way it can report the specific error?

  9. #9
    billycundiff{float:left;} silver trophybronze trophy RyanReese's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Whiteford, Maryland, United States
    Posts
    13,564
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That means it is some javascript error. Double click it and ask for more details. One of the buttons there.
    Twitter-@Ryan_Reese09
    http://www.ryanreese.us -Always looking for web design/development work

  10. #10
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It said this...

    Webpage error details

    User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; iOpus-I-M; Sky Broadband; Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1) ; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.648; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; OfficeLiveConnector.1.3; OfficeLivePatch.0.0)
    Timestamp: Thu, 25 Jun 2009 12:18:16 UTC


    Message: HTML Parsing Error: Unable to modify the parent container element before the child element is closed (KB927917)
    Line: 0
    Char: 0
    Code: 0
    URI: http://www.instantcomputerconsultant.com/index.php

  11. #11
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Perhaps you can find some help on Microsoft's page about that error?

    This problem occurs because a child container HTML element contains script that tries to modify the parent container element of the child container. The script tries to modify the parent container element by using either the innerHTML method or the appendChild method.
    There are several suggested workarounds on that page.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  12. #12
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Decided to remove the popup. There must be more compliant popup scripts out there.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    1,432
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried?

    Code JavaScript:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    <!--
    script here
    -->
    </script>

  14. #14
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    740
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, I did that to remove it.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •