User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

FrontPage 2000 and PHP

Hello,

I'm just starting to learn PHP & MySQL and all this database managing lingo. Up to now I've been working with FP 2000 (I hear a few snickers). Is PHP compatible with FP 2000? What are my options (if any)?

Thanks,

William:

Currently Occupied; Till Sunda Andrew-J2000's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you cannot code php, asp mySQL or what ever language as it will only complicate things.

Front page is the worst one learn to write this out by hand

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, they're not compatible. The best thing that you (in my opinion) can do if you want to integrate PHP into your pages is to learn HTML along with it and drop Frontpage.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys for your sobering answers, fortunately I know some HTML, but I guess I'll have to delve into it deeper if I want to integrate PHP and MySQL into my pages.-- I may be grasping for air here but...would it be possible to design the basic layout of the page in FP, then export it out and integrate the PHP code and rename it with a PHP extension?

William

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    course, but you will still need to alter the structure etc

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dreamweaver does PHP, I think.
    -Jonathan
    Webmaster, The Aviation Forum

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've got DW3 and it handles PHP okay. You can open files and in the WYSIWYG editor you only see the HTML. Probably messes up the PHP a little bit if you try to edit via the visual editor, though. Maybe DW4 has better support, but what's Ultradev? Isn't that for server-side files?

Blissed off
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)