SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have looked through some of the previous postings on this topic but still have multiple questions. I would like any specific legal info and/or sites which might address this more fully. Also would like answers from a more general, standard practice point of view.

1. I am new to HTML and am basically learning how to code on my own. On-line tutorials give you the basics, but for specifics, examples really help. Where is the line between learning from examples and plaguerism? (Obviously straight cut and paste is out. However, if you want to create a certain effect, for example, and don't know how to code it off-hand, so you look at the code for other sites that have a very similar effect and essentially end up typing in the same code, editing only color, text, etc., where does this fall? How much change is needed? If coding to create a certain effect is common and appears on multiple sites, is it more or less considered "common knowledge" and therefore free to be mimicked?)

2. Someone had mentioned in a previous posting that, when they did use code from other sites, they gave credit to that site or webmaster. Along with that posting, someone else mentioned it was good to contact the webmaster and ask for permission. Assuming permission is granted and I want to give credit to the writer, what is the standard way to do this? Where does it go, etc.?