SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Should I be compensated for additional skills?

Hello everyone,

I work as a web designer / developer. I am responsible for the design, XHTML and CSS of the websites at the company I work for. I get paid $10/ hour and $15 / hour after 40 hours. I work a minimum of 45 hours a week and often up to 50. Recently I have begun studying ASP.NET on-the-clock in my free time as approved by the company. I do not have a degree and I'm only 19 but I have been actively designing and developing for profit since the age of 15.

The company now wants me to use the learned skills to build applications and do back-end development. I was only recently raised to $10/ hour from $9/hour about 2 months ago after my performance review.

The company doesn't seem to think I deserve additional compensation for this skillset based on what I have seen, but I havent directly approached management about it yet. They are the type of company in which tries to make the employees do many jobs without further compensation to avoid hiring additional resources.

Should I accept the fact that they don't want to compensate me for this skillset because they let me learn this on-the-clock... or should I push for further compensation?

This company is very touchy about this type of issue and I'm worried that they will potentially be upset that I requested a raise so soon after my last.

If I should request further compensation, what should I use as leverage? I'm fairly certain they believe they can deny me and I will go back to my desk and shutup because I don't have other offers.