SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard boxhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,040
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    nvarchar(max) npt displaying

    Why won't my nvarchar(max) field from sql display in coldfusion? I get no error, just a blank screen!

    cheers

    monkey
    monkey - the rest is history

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Wallingford, CT
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by boxhead View Post
    Why won't my nvarchar(max) field from sql display in coldfusion? I get no error, just a blank screen!

    cheers

    monkey
    Did you try dumping the query to see if you get anything there?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard boxhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,040
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    how would i do that?
    monkey - the rest is history

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Wallingford, CT
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by boxhead View Post
    how would i do that?
    Use:
    Code:
    <cfdump var="#yourqueryname#">
    It is a very useful tag for debugging.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard boxhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,040
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    very useful - cheers.

    The recordset seems to just contain [empty string] in the field containing the nvarcahr(max) data - there is definatley somthing in there! If i change the field type in SQL Server to 'text' it works fine (however, this causes lots of other issues, hence using nvarchar in the first place).
    monkey - the rest is history

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Wallingford, CT
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by boxhead View Post
    very useful - cheers.

    The recordset seems to just contain [empty string] in the field containing the nvarcahr(max) data - there is definatley somthing in there! If i change the field type in SQL Server to 'text' it works fine (however, this causes lots of other issues, hence using nvarchar in the first place).
    Hmm I don't really use nvarchar(max) so I am not sure. It has be an issue with your SQL then. Are you able to post it on here, for us to see?

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast Paul_K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In the CFAdmin select the data source and presum9ing your using MS SQL server select this option:

    String Format -- Enable High ASCII characters and Unicode for data sources configured for non-Latin characters

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard boxhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,040
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_K View Post
    In the CFAdmin select the data source and presum9ing your using MS SQL server select this option:

    String Format -- Enable High ASCII characters and Unicode for data sources configured for non-Latin characters
    What will this do?
    monkey - the rest is history

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast Paul_K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It should enable the Unicode fromt he database to come across correctly.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard boxhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,040
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_K View Post
    It should enable the Unicode fromt he database to come across correctly.
    Sorry Paul - i've got 2 threads going at the mo and thought you'd answered the other, which made no sence

    That makes sence, I'll give it a go

    cheers
    monkey - the rest is history


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •