Hi!
Hope this is not too long of a post...

I have been using an app on OSX called Scrivener for writing a novel (might take another 20 years for me to actually write though, lol), and also for writing lyrics (I am a musician). It is an OSX only app though. Plus, I move between systems/OS's. Additionally, I would love to have something able to be a bit more.. me! I did a quick mock-up in Photoshop, but am unable to post a link to the .png due to forum policy (less than 10 posts)

Basically, at the top, a main title bar with some menu items, static in content, covering full width of the "app" (app width=1000-1200px); javascript for the menus maybe? The rest of the content would appear below it.

The left side (column) would have folders with text documents; expandable/collapsable, click on a folder to see a descrip, notes, etc.; click on the text doc name (main Lyric doc) and it's "contents" is displayed in the various panes. Dynamic; will need to add folders and new text documents into the folders ("Lyric" docs). The left column and right column would each be the full height of the "app," and I am figuring approx. 180-200px each? I am not as concerned with the "novel writing" aspect(s) (yet!).

The center field will be split (about 700-800px wide); top half would be for lyric writing, and would require the usual suspects for text authoring: formatting, bold, italics, text colors, etc. This would be the largest field/pane (600px height, give or take). I would want to be able to have the formatted content in this field/pane printable as a single entity; PDF export would be pretty sweet as well.