SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru coiL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    QLD, Australia
    Posts
    666
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question how to change size of completed movie

    hello me again

    Was wondering if there is a way to change the size (physical size - width & height) of your movie once it is already completed. I tried to find a tutorial on it but couldn't. I aslo tried to change the movie properties but all that does is shrink the stage (is that the right word?) and half of my movie gets cut out when you play it.

    any help is appreciated
    coiL
    "cradled in the learning curve"

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sure you can change the size, but you'll also have to change the size of all the elements in the movie. It's not like Photoshop where you choose "Image Size and everything changes. Flash only allows you to change the Canvas size.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  3. #3
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you using Flash MX? There is a new Stage Object in Flash MX that will allow you to scale the entire movie. Buy MX if you don't have it already.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Freddy...are you kidding? That rocketh! How is it implemented? Do you have to use the object before this feature can be applied or is a feature built into the menu system?
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  5. #5
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, you know I have not looked at the code, but here is something that can help.

    http://flashcomponents.net/component.cfm?nav=2&id=53
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard bbolte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The Central Plains
    Posts
    3,304
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    coil, do you mean when you place the movie on the web page? just change the properties within the html, you can then size it to whatever you want there, fill the window or a percentage of the window.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru coiL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    QLD, Australia
    Posts
    666
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes I did want to change the size for placement on a webpage. I did try changing the width and height properties in the html but it still cut out the side and bottom of the movie.

    I am using flash 5
    coiL
    "cradled in the learning curve"

  8. #8
    You want what? By when?? Milamber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    342
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    make sure to change the height and width *in proportion*. If you make a movie that was originally 300 x 300 into a 100x500 movie via HTML code, it's gonna do really odd things, such as cut off your stage and elements, or just leave blank space etc.
    -Jeff Minard | jrm.cc - Battlefield 2 Stats

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i dont know wether i have understood that right. but this should also be possible in flash 5. if you publish it you can have that changed in the publish settings. if you want to have it now played in fullscreen just change it to 100% (or something like that) and add the code (HTML) that the window should be opend in fullscreen and not resizable... that should work in every size you like. no?
    With best regards

    Darkside_Golem


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •