SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Total beginner here... question about inputting HTML/XHTML markup in HTML editor

Hi there,

I have a probably very dumb question but I don't see it addressed anywhere so I thought I'd ask.

I'm using the Build Your Own Website the Right Way book and am plodding along by building the example. I'm using NoteTab Light as an editor.

Here is my question: what is the convention for inputting indents in the markup? I don't mean indenting the text that will be seen in the web page itself, but in the HTML/XHTML text editor itself?

I had started just tabbing my lines of markup. But in the example that I'm building, I have to insert several <div> to create divisions in markup that has already been input. In the illustration, all the markup indentation gets moved to the right by one indent... Do I have to manually retype a tab for each line of markup? This method doesn't seem very efficient so I'm thinking I'm not doing it right.

Or do you all type your markup justified to the left? That wouldn't look very organized... at least to me!

Thanks for explaining

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by NCC View Post
    Hi there,
    Here is my question: what is the convention for inputting indents in the markup? I don't mean indenting the text that will be seen in the web page itself, but in the HTML/XHTML text editor itself?
    Its not addressed because nobody does it. Tabs and extra spaces waste bandwidth.
    Yes html is not very organised! See html for typical examples. Most pro webmasters have a down on wysiwyg editors simply because they insert extra spaces, tabs, comments, meta-tags and all sorts of other junk the page does not need. This is bad for bandwidth and also seo.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)