SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

conditional rendering

I'm new to asp.net

If I put a <script></script> tag above the </body> tag in my master page, is there a way to only have that block of code render / be sent to the client IF item.aspx is loaded? And if products.aspx or default.aspx is loaded have that <script></script> block NOT render?

Is that what conditional rendering is?

Chopped Liver bronze trophy imaginekitty's Avatar
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like you want to use <asp:ContentPlaceholder> in your master page. Then item.aspx will have <asp:Content> tags with content in it and products.aspx will not.

Or if you put the content in the masterpage's ContentPlaceholder you can put an empty <asp:Content> in products.aspx which will render nothing.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by NAWA-mark View Post
    Sounds like you want to use <asp:ContentPlaceholder> in your master page. Then item.aspx will have <asp:Content> tags with content in it and products.aspx will not.

Or if you put the content in the masterpage's ContentPlaceholder you can put an empty <asp:Content> in products.aspx which will render nothing.
    You can do that?!?!

So right now my master page has one <asp:ContentPlaceholder> tag for item.aspx content, products.aspx content etc.

So you're saying I can have 2 <asp:ContentPlaceholder> tags in the master page and if any page is loaded and does not have a corresponding <asp:Content> tag then the placeholder just won't populate?

Chopped Liver bronze trophy imaginekitty's Avatar
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by tictike View Post
    So you're saying I can have 2 <asp:ContentPlaceholder> tags in the master page and if any page is loaded and does not have a corresponding <asp:Content> tag then the placeholder just won't populate?