SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Afrika
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Nigeria
    Posts
    1,737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    how do you remotely install mssql ????

    Hi guys,
    we just bought a fully managed dedicated server and the ms sql 2008 standard lic from microsoft.

    Being a managed server the hosting company doesnt offer support on software.

    My question is how do you remotely install the software ???

    I have the files copied locally to my laptop and tried to map a drive via ftp to the remote server and it didnt work, so am uploading the files via ftp client.

    Is there a better way ?

    Ehi

  2. #2
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,623
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have to get the files on there somehow. In the past, I've fedexed the company media and they have been nice enough to load it into the drive for me, but that doesn't seem to be an option in your case.

    Once you have it there, just fire up remote desktop and run the installer.

  3. #3
    Afrika
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Nigeria
    Posts
    1,737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Fedex ???

    that will take forever. I thought there was something i was missing

    Am already uploading via ftp.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member Kailash1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have tow options to load the setup files on your server.

    [1] Upload it via FTP
    [2] Share your laptop drives via RDP and then transfer files.

    Kailash

  5. #5
    Afrika
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Nigeria
    Posts
    1,737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I started uploading and it said it would take 48 hours as the software is over 3 gb.

    How do i do it via RDP ? Cant seem to get it to work

  6. #6
    Afrika
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Nigeria
    Posts
    1,737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok

    i zipped the x64 and setup files and uploading vip ftp, also increased my broadband speed to 20mb.

    It says it will takes 6 hours 30mins, as time of posting this i have 4 hours to go

  7. #7
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,623
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    FTP should be quicker than SMB (windows shares) in a remote location by a long shot. End of the day, there are just large files in this world and they can take a while to transfer.

  8. #8
    Afrika
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Nigeria
    Posts
    1,737
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    tnx, I have 3 hours left


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •